Makybe Diva Stakes Tips - Who does history point towards winning the Makybe Diva at Flemington?

  • Horses that have drawn between Barriers 1 to 6 have dominated
  • Race has been won by some champions including Weekend Hussler in 2008 and Northerly in 2002
  • Does the race favourite, Hartnell, have history on his side?
Weekend Hussler scored in the Makybe Diva Stakes in 2008

The Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) was elevated to Group 1 status in 2013 and its honour roll contains some big names that have gone on to taste major success.

The Flemington mile race is a traditional lead up to the big spring carnival features and has been won in recent years by Palentino (2016), Fawkner (2015), Southern Speed (2012), Shocking (2010) and Weekend Hussler in 2008.

Northerly took out the event, which was formerly known as the Craiglee Stakes in 2002, before going on to the Caulfield Cup (2400m)/ Cox Plate (2040) double in the same season.

Using the results of the Makybe Diva Stakes since the year 2000 as a guide, the race has generally been a mixed one for favourites as only three popular elects have won in that time period.

Dissident scored in 2014 as a $2.75 fancy, while Weekend Hussler ($1.90) and Northerly ($2.40) are other favourites to win in the last 17 years. The average winning price since 2000 has been a healthy $10.20. 

10 of the 17 winners have won at single figure odds. Marasco was successful as a $2.75 chance in 2007 but was just shaded for favouritism by Apache Cat, while Southern Speed went around at $4.60 in 2012. Palentino saluted as a $9 chance last year.

The longest priced winner since 2000 was Littorio at $41, while Foreteller pipped Puissance De Lune in 2013 at $15. This year, Hartnell is a $1.70 favourite in early markets with William Hill ahead of Black Heart Bart at $6 and Le Romain at $9. Hey Doc ($13), Humidor ($14), Jon Snow ($17) and Inference ($19) are other runners below $20.

Horses that draw within the first six barriers have tended to do well in the Makybe Diva Stakes with those positions supplying 12 of the 17 winners since 2000.

The most successful barrier since 2000 has been No. 6, supplying three winners in that time period, including Dissident in 2014 . Tavago has drawn that spot this year.

Barriers 1, 2 and 5 have also supplied multiple winners with two apiece. This year, the Darren Weir-trained Gailo Chop is in Barrier 1, while Seaburge is in 2. Le Romain is in Barrier 5.

An interesting statistic is that the most successful age group has been five-year-olds with eight winners since 2000. This year, there are five runners aged five including Le Romain, Tavago, Humidor, Ventura Storm and Single Gaze.

The most successful trainers in the race since 2000 have been David Hayes and Fred Kersley. Hayes won the race in 2004 with Hugs Dancer and backed it up a year later with Confectioner in 2005. This year, Hayes is in a training partnership with Tom Dabernig and they take a two-pronged attack into the race with Ventura Storm and Seaburge.

The most successful jockeys in the race have been Craig Williams, Craig Newitt and Damien Oliver. Williams is aboard Seaburge, while Oliver steers Tavago.

Finally, the traditional lead up to this race used to be the J.J.Liston Stakes (1400m), now known as the P.B.Lawrence Stakes (1400m) and provided six winners between 2000 and 2010, but since then, winners have come from a variety of lead ups including the Memsie Stakes (1400m), which has supplied two of the past three winners.

This year, eight of the 11 runners come out of the Memsie, which Hartnell took out in dominant fashion. Other notable runs came from Black Heart Bart, who was 3rd in that lead up, while Hey Doc, Le Romain and Jon Snow filled 4th through to 6th.

Dissident claimed the Memsie/Makybe Diva double in 2014. Black Heart Bart won the Memsie last year before finishing 2nd in the Makybe.

Selection based on trends since the year 2000:

Le Romain

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Makybe Diva Stakes Tips - Who does history point towards winning the Makybe Diva at Flemington?

How does history help us find the winner of the Golden Rose?

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages