Australasian Oaks 2018

DateSaturday, May 5, 2018
TrackMorphettville Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Age3YO Fillies


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Australasian Oaks betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • The Auraria Stakes is a key lead up race
  • Victorian-trained runners have an excellent record
  • Don't be put off by a wide barrier draw

Where to bet on the Australasian Oaks

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Morphettville racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Morphettville races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Australasian Oaks History and Guide

The Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) takes place at Adelaide’s Morphettville Racecourse annually in April or early May during the Adelaide Racing Carnival and is a set-weights race for three-year-old fillies.

It attracts the best local fillies and is also targeted by some interstate trainers looking to capture Group 1 success for their fillies.

The race is held alongside the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) on what is South Australia’s richest day of racing.

Other races on the day include the Group 2 Queen of the South Stakes (1600m), Group 3 SA Chairmans Stakes (2000m) and the Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m).

The most reliable lead-up race to the Australasian Oaks is the Auraria Stakes (1800m) held at Morphettville two weeks earlier.

The Australiasian Oaks provides the ideal lead up race to the upcoming Group 3 SA Oaks (2400m) held at the same track two weeks later.

First run in 1982, the race was won by Rose Of Kingston when it carried Group 3 status.

Occasionally a high-class female galloper will contest the Australasian Oaks and go on to bigger and better things, such as Zarita (2008), who went on to beat the colts & geldings in the Group 1 SA Derby (2500m).

Other famous horses to win the race include: Mannerism (1991), Tristalove (1994), Grand Echezeaux (2000), Anamato (2007), Gallica (2009), Lights Of Heaven (2011), May's Dream (2014), Abbey Marie (2016) and Egg Tart (2017).

Australasian Oaks Winners (Since 2000)

2000Grand Echezeaux
2001Tempest Morn
2002Tully Thunder
2003Sound Action
2004Rinky Dink
2005Irish Darling
2006Marju Snip
2010Small Minds
2011Light Of Heavon
2013Maybe Discreet
2014May's Dream
2016Abbey Marie
2017Egg Tart


Since the track's resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere. With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.

Morphettville Racecourse History

Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks. 


*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages