Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

The Goodwood History and Guide

The Goodwood Stakes is held at Morphettville Racecourse in May each year and is the premier sprint race staged during the Adelaide Racing Carnival.

A Group 1 race held over 1200m and worth $500,000 in prize money - making it the richest race of the autumn carnival, it is a set weights contest with three-year-old and upwards horses subject to penalty conditions depending on the level of their previous successes achieved on the track. The race had been a handicap until 2007 when it became the set weights race it is today.

Some of Australia's smartest sprinters are attracted to South Australia for the race, which was won in 2012 by the unbeaten mare Black Caviar. The names of greats Boardwalk Angel (1989), Euclase (1992), Sword (1996), Bomber Bill (2003), Super Elegant (2004) and Takeover Target (2009) are also firmly etched on an illustrious roll of honour.

Regular Victorian and Sydney performers head to South Australia to take on Adelaide's best sprinters, who will potentially have taken in the Group 3 R N Irwin Stakes over 1100m, Group 3 DC McKay Stakes over 1100m or the Group 1 Sportingbet Classic for fillies and mares (1200m) en route to a crack at The Goodwood Stakes. Black Caviar took the Sportingbet Classic route in 2012.

The Goodwood Stakes is the feature race of a stellar day of horse racing that also includes the Group 3 National Stakes (1200m), the Group 3 SA Fillies Classic (2500m), the Group 3 Queen's Cup (2500m), the Group 3 R A Lee Stakes (1600m), the Listed Centaurea Stakes (2009m), the Listed Laelia Stakes (1600m) and the Listed Proud Miss Stakes (1200m).

The Goodwood Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and The Goodwood betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers for The Goodwood are:

  • Three and four-year-olds have the best record
  • Fillies and mares have dominated in recent years
  • Victorian-trained horses are the ones to concentrate on

Where to bet on The Goodwood

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Morphettville racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Morphettville races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Morphettville Racecourse

Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks. 

Track Description

Since the tracks resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere. With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages