Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

BTC Cup History and Guide

The BTC Cup is the first major race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and takes place at Doomben Racecourse in early May each year. In 2013, however, it was staged at Eagle Farm Racecourse following a switch of venues.

Run over the sprint distance of 1200m, the BTC Cup is an open weight for age race and pits some of the best talents together chasing a Group 1 prize and a share of the $400,000 prize fund. Some will be making their seasonal debuts, while other will be back from a short break following the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The BTC Cup was first held in 1964, when known as the BATC J.T. Delaney Quality Handicap and won by Rashlore. The race has been held under several different names during its existence with the BTC Cup name settled upon in 2009. Its stock has risen significantly throughout the years with the race becoming a Group 1 contest in 2006, the year in which Gee I Jane caused a shock.

Some notable names are on the roll of honour of the BTC Cup, not least the unbeaten Black Caviar, who took the race in 2011, and smart sprinters Falvelon, a dual winner, Apache Cat, Vinegar Joe, Strawberry Road, High Regard, Accomplice, Lord Essex, Albert The Fat and back-to-back BTC Cup winner Buck's Pride. 

The BTC Cup is typically used as a lead up race to the Group 1 Doomben 10,000, held at Doomben Racecourse two weeks later over the slightly longer trip of 1350m. Apache Cat was the first horse to do the BTC Cup/Doomben 10,000 double when winning both in 2008 and Sea Siren matched the feat in 2012 with success in both races. 

The BTC Cup is the headline act of a day that also includes the Group 2 Champagne Classic (1200m), the Group 3 Chairman's Handicap (2100m) and the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate (2100m).

Where to bet on the BTC Cup

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Doomben racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Doomben races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Doomben Racecourse

Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks. 

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War. 

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities. 

Track Description

Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper. 

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages