Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Doomben 10,000 History and Guide

Some of the best sprinters in Australia bid for victory each year in the Group 1 Doomben 10,000, which is one of the feature races of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The Group 1 race is held at Doomben Racecourse in May each year and carries $650,000 in prize money. Run over 1350m, it is the highlight of the final day of racing at Doomben Racecourse during the carnival before the action moves to Eagle Farm.

The race gets the Doomben 10,000 name due to the fact the prize money was increased to $10,000 in the 1940s - making it the richest sprint race in Australia at the time. The race title, which had previously been the Doomben Newmarket Handicap and the TM Ahearn Memorial, has since stuck despite the prize fund increasing dramatically.  

The Doomben 10,000 is the star attraction of a day that also includes the running of the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes, the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes, the Group 3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes and the Group 3 Premier's Cup.

The Doomben 10,000 has been won by some of the biggest names in Australian horse racing - dual winners Black Onyx (1969 and 1970), Prince Triala (1990 and 1991), Chief De Beers (1995 and 1998), Falvelon (2001 and 2002) and Apache Cat (2008 and 2009) on the roll of honour along with the likes of Bernborough (1946), Manikato (1979), Bel Esprit (2003) and Takeover Target (2007).

Sea Siren, meanwhile, created history when winning in 2012 as she became the first filly to win the race. Five mares had achieved victory in the years previous but never a filly.

The lead-up to the Doomben 10,000 will see most runners contest the BTC Cup at Doomben two weeks earlier with Apache Cat (2008) and Sea Siren (2012) having done the double. Others will come into the race via the Robert Sangster Stakes held at Morphettville in South Australia or the All Aged Stakes at Randwick in Sydney.

The Stradbroke Handicap at Eagle Farm two weeks later is likely to be the next port of call for most of the horses contesting the Doomben 10,000. 

Doomben 10,0000 Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Doomben 10,000 betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Doomben 10,000 pointers are:

  • Favourites have a good record
  • Five-year-olds have the best recent record
  • Inside barriers are crucial
  • The BTC Cup is a good guide to the race

Where to bet on the Doomben 10,000

Bookmakers Sportsbet, Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Doomben racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Doomben races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".

Doomben Racecourse

Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks. 

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War. 

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities. 

Track Description

Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper. 

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages