No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Doomben Cup 2017

DateSaturday, May 20, 2017
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age
Age3YO and Upwards

Doomben Cup Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Doomben Cup betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Doomben Cup pointers are:

  • Favourites don't have a great record
  • Mares have a poor record in the race
  • Five and six-year-olds are the best to concentrate on
  • The Hollindale Cup offers the best form guide

Where to bet on the Doomben Cup

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and CrownBet offer some of the best odds on Doomben racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Doomben races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Doomben Cup history and guide

The Doomben Cup takes place in mid-May each year and is one of the major races staged at Doomben Racecourse during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

A weight-for-age race for horses aged three and upwards with more than $500,000 in prize money, the Doomben Cup is run over 2000m and attracts some of the best middle-distance and staying performers bidding for success in the Group 1 race.

Doomben Cup Day is one of the biggest days of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival with four other Group races joining it on the schedule as well as two listed contests - the others being the Group 3 The Roses, Group 3 BRC Sprint, Group 3 Fred Best Classic, Group 3 Lord Mayor's Cup, Listed Dalrello Stakes and Listed Lancaster Stakes.

The Doomben Cup was first held in 1933 when won by Pentheus and was held over varying distances between 2000m and 2160 until the current trip was settled on in 1990. Ten years earlier in 1980, it had been staged as a Group 1 race for the first time with victory going to Golden Rhapsody.

The Doomben Cup has been won by some major names in Australian racing including Rough Habit, who is the only horse ever to win three successive Doomben Cups having made the race his own between 1991 and 1993.

He is joined on the roll of honour by the familiar names of Bernborough (1946), Earlwood (1959-60), Lord Ben (1974), Marceau (1978), in the earlier years, and more recently by Danewin (1995), Juggler (1996), Might And Power (1998), Intergaze (1999), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Above Deck (2006), Metal Bender (2010) and Scenic Shot (2011).

The most popular route to the Doomben Cup is via the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes, which takes place over 1800m at Gold Coast Racecourse two weeks earlier. Doomben Cup runners will then likely head on to contest the Group 2 PJ O'Shea Stakes or the Group 2 Brisbane Cup, both staged over 2400m at Eagle Farm in June.

Doomben Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2001King Keitel
2002Mr Bureaucrat
2003Bush Padre
2006Above Deck
2007Cinque Cento
2009Scenic Shot
2010Metal Bender
2011Scenic Shot
2013Beaten Up
2016Our Ivanhowe


Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper. 

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.


Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks. 

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War. 

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities. 

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages