No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Queensland Derby 2017

DateSaturday, June 10, 2017
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights

Queensland Derby Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Queensland Derby betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Queensland Derby pointers are:

  • Runners are single figure odds are the ones to focus on
  • Barriers 1-5 have the best record
  • The Grand Prix Stakes is traditionally the best guide

Where to bet on the Queensland Derby

Bookmakers LadbrokesWilliam Hill and bet365 offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Eagle Farm races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Queensland Derby History and Guide

The Queensland Derby is a Group 1 race staged at Eagle Farm Racecourse each June and is the premier contest for three-year-old stayers held during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Carrying a prize fund of $600,000, it is a set-weights race run over the 2400m distance and attracts some of the best of the three-year-old generation to Queensland each year.

The Queensland Derby dates back to 1868 when first run at Gayndah and won by Hermit before being switched to Eagle Farm three years later. It has remained at the track ever since.

The route to the Queensland Derby usual takes in the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes staged at Eagle Farm and the Doomben Classic at Doomben Racecourse, both of which are three-year-old races held during the earlier weeks of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. The Group 3 Rough Habit Plate, held at Doomben in May, is another key lead-up race. Fillies may run in the Derby a week after contesting the Queensland Oaks over course and distance.

Some notable names have won the Queensland Derby during their careers including Tulloch (1957), Royal Sovereign (1964), Kingston Town (1980), Strawberry Road (1983), Rough Habit (1990), Yippyjo (1997) and Court Ruler, who defeated subsequent Melbourne Cup winner Shocking into second place in 2009. 

Ice Chariot is the last horse to do the Grand Prix Stakes-Queensland Derby double in 2006, while Empires Choice is the most recent to land the Rough Habit Plate-Queensland Derby double in 2007. Brambles usurped both in 2012 when winning all three races to complete the Rough Habit-Grand Prix Stakes-Queensland Derby treble.

It forms part of the richest day of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, joining the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, Group 1 JJ Atkins, Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes, Group 2 Brisbane Cup and four other listed races.

NOTE: The 2017 Queensland Derby was switched to Doomben and run over 2200m due to problems with the Eagle Farm racetrack.

Queensland Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2001De Gaulle Lane
2002County Tyrone
2003Half Hennessy
2004Toulouse Lautrec
2005Lachlan River
2006Ice Chariot
2007Empires Choice
2008Riva San
2009Court Ruler
2016Eagle Way


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and has undergone a major redevelopment and opened up again in 2016.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.

Eagle Farm stages Group 1 racing during the Brisbane Winter Carnival and Queensland Winter Carnival with the track host to the Kingsford-Smith Cup, Queensland Oaks, Queensland Derby, Stradbroke Handicap, JJ Atkins and Tattersall's Tiara.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands. 

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot. 

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Upcoming Group 1 Races

You have unread messages

You have unread messages