No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Queensland Oaks 2017

DateSaturday, June 3, 2017
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Age3YO Fillies

Queensland Oaks Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Queensland Oaks betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Queensland Oaks pointers are:

  • Roughies do well with a number of longshot winners saluting
  • Barriers don't play a huge role so wide draws aren't off-putting
  • The Doomben Roses is the key lead up race

Where to bet on the Queensland Oaks

Bookmakers CrownBet and bet365 offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Queensland Oaks History and Guide

Held at Eagle Farm Racecourse in late May or early June each year, the Group 1 Queensland Oaks is the premier staying race for three-year-old fillies staged during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The last female Classic before the end of season's major action, the Group 1 race attracts some of the smartest performers to Eagle Farm chasing a prize fund of $500,000 each year. 

It is a set-weights race staged over the staying distance of 2400m and is the feature race on the opening day of Eagle Farm's carnival with the earlier meetings during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival having been staged at Doomben Racecourse.

The Queensland Oaks was first run in 1951 when won by Maltmaid and earned Group 1 status in 1979, the year in which Prunella was successful. There have been some major names on the roll of honour since including that of Ethereal, who won the Queensland Oaks in 2001 before taking out the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup last that year.

Race record holder Arctic Scent (1988), Triscay (1991), Slight Chance (1993), The Jewel (2003), Cinque Cento (2005), Heavenly Glow (2008), Purple (2009) and Scarlett Lady (2009) are among the other familiar names to have won the Queensland Oaks during their careers. There have, however, been plenty of upsets down the years with the Queensland Oaks no stranger to big priced winners.

The traditional lead-up race to the Queensland Oaks is the Group 3 Doomben Roses over 2000m, staged at Doomben Racecourse two weeks earlier. Ethereal and Scarlett Lady are the most recent fillies to have completed the Doomben Roses-Queensland Oaks double. 

Queensland Oaks Day doubles up as Ladies Day at Eagle Farm Racecourse with the racing programme also including the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes (1400m), the Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup (2200m), the Group 2 QTC Cup (1300m) and the Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes (1400m).

NOTE: The 2017 Queensland Oaks was switched to Doomben and run over 2200m due to problems with the Eagle Farm racetrack.

Queensland Oaks Winners (Since 2000)

2002Mon Mekki
2005Vitesse Dane
2007Eskimo Queen
2008Riva San
2010Miss Keepsake
2011Scarlett Lady


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and has undergone a major redevelopment and opened up again in 2016.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.

Eagle Farm stages Group 1 racing during the Brisbane Winter Carnival and Queensland Winter Carnival with the track host to the Kingsford-Smith Cup, Queensland Oaks, Queensland Derby, Stradbroke Handicap, JJ Atkins and Tattersall's Tiara.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands. 

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot. 

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages