No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

JJ Atkins 2017

DateSaturday, June 10, 2017
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights

JJ Atkins Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and JJ Atkins betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key JJ Atkins pointers are:

  • The Sires Produce Stakes is traditionally the best guide
  • Favourites have a strong record in the race
  • Barriers 2-6 hold the best recent record

Where to bet on the JJ Atkins

Bookmakers CrownBet and Luxbet offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Eagle Farm races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

JJ Atkins History and Guide

The JJ Atkins is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds and takes place at Eagle Farm Racecourse each June on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

Formerly known as the TJ Smith before changing names in 2013 to honour legendary Queensland trainer Jim Atkins, it is run over the 1600m distance and sees two-year-old carrying set weights as they chase a share of the $600,000 prize fund. 

The JJ Atkins was first run back in 1897 when known as the Claret Stakes and won by Common, and was elevated to Group 2 status in 1980. Five years later it was upgraded to a Group 1 and since a number of horses have gone on to great things after running in the JJ Atkins during their debut seasons.

The route to the JJ Atkins typically takes in the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes, held at Eagle Farm a week earlier over 1400m, with the two races forming a popular betting double each year. Among those to complete the double are Slight Chance (1992), Mahogany (1993), Anthems (1996), Al Mansour (1997), Juanmo (2001), Lovely Jubly (2002) and Sizzling, who won both in 2012.

It forms part of the richest day of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, joining the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, Group 1 Queensland Derby, Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes, Group 2 Brisbane Cup and four other listed races.

NOTE: The 2017 JJ Atkins was switched to Doomben due to problems with the Eagle Farm racetrack.

JJ Atkins Winners (Since 2000)

2000Show A Heart
2002Lovely Jubly
2004Outback Prince
2005Darci Brahma
2006Reigning To Win
2009Linky Dink
2013Romantic Touch
2015Press Statement
2016Sacred Elixir


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and has undergone a major redevelopment and opened up again in 2016.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.

Eagle Farm stages Group 1 racing during the Brisbane Winter Carnival and Queensland Winter Carnival with the track host to the Kingsford-Smith Cup, Queensland Oaks, Queensland Derby, Stradbroke Handicap, JJ Atkins and Tattersall's Tiara.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands. 

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot. 

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Upcoming Group 1 Races

You have unread messages

You have unread messages