Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

2017 Australian Cup

DateSaturday, March 11, 2017
Track Flemington Racecourse
Class Group 1
Race TypeWeight-for-age
Prizemoney$1.5 million
AgeNo Age Restrictions


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Australian Cup betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Favourites have a poor record in the race
  • Wide barriers are not a disadvantage
  • The Peter Young Stakes is the key lead up race


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Australian Cup (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Australian Cup streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Australian Cup live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Australian Guineas and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Australian Guineas, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Australian Cup (2000m) takes place at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse annually in late February or early March and is the premier middle distance weight-for-age race during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival.

With a $1million prize fund, it attracts the country’s best middle distance/staying types and is accompanied by the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) on what is known as Melbourne’s ‘Super Saturday’ of racing.

Other races on Super Saturday include the Group 2 Blamey Stakes (1600m), Group 2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1400m), Group 3 Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Matron Stakes (1600m).

The best form race coming into the Australian Cup is the Group 2 St George Stakes (1800m) held at Caulfield two weeks earlier, with 11 of the past 15 winners coming through the St George.

First run in 1863, the Australian Cup was won by Barwon when the race was a Principal race and run over a gruelling 3627m.

The long and illustrious honour roll lists the who’s who of Australian racing with the most recent winner being Super Cool in 2013.

Other former winners of the Australian Cup include Malua (1886), Marauder (1938), Bore Head (1967), Leilani (1975), Ming Dynasty (1978 & 1980), Dulcify (1979), Hyperno (1981), Bonecrusher (1987), Vo Rogue (1989-90), Better Loosen Up (1991), Let’s Elope (1992), Veandercross (1993), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1997), Dane Ripper (1998), Northerly (2001 & 2003), Lonhro (2004), Makybe Diva (2005), Zipping (2010), Shocking (2011), and Manighar (2012).

Australian Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2002Old Comrade
2005Makybe Diva
2006Roman Arch
2007Pompeii Ruler
2013Super Cool


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as "The Straight Six" course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions - this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages