Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Crown Oaks 2016

DateThursday, 3 November
TrackFlemington Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize Money$1 million


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Crown Oaks betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Crown Oaks pointers are:

  • The Wakeful Stakes, a 2000m race staged on Victoria Derby Day, is the key lead up race
  • The Thousand Guineas at Caulfield is another good form guide to the Oaks
  • Ciaron Maher has trained the last two Crown Oaks winners


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Crown Oaks (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Crown Oaks streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Crown Oaks live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Crown Oaks and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Crown Oaks, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Crown Oaks is the premier race for three-year-old fillies staged during the Melbourne Spring Carnival and takes place at Flemington Racecourse in November each year.

The race, a Group 1 staged over 2500m with set weights for the fillies, is the female equivalent of the Victoria Derby, which is also held during the Melbourne Cup Carnival. The Crown Oaks is the headline of Ladies Day - day three of the carnival, which is staged two days after the Melbourne Cup on a Thursday.

With a $1million prize fund on offer, up to 16 of the best fillies (plus four emergencies) can battle over a trip they have yet to encounter. It is a strong race for punting with bookmakers offer special promotions on the race and odds in pre-nomination markets well in advance of raceday.

Formerly known as the VRC Oaks, the race dates back to 1861 when Palestine won the first ever classic, the race has been won by some star fillies in its long and illustrious history which includes becoming a Group 1 in 1979.

Among the names on the roll of honour are Light Fingers (1964), Rose Of Kingston (1981), Research (1988), Spirit Of Kingston (1994), Kensington Palace (1997), Magical Miss (2001), Special Harmony (2003), Miss Finland (2006), Samantha Miss (2008) and Faint Perfume (2009).

Runners in the Crown Oaks will typically have contested the key lead up race the Group 1 Wakeful Stakes, a 2000m race staged on Victoria Derby Day on the opening day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington on the Saturday before. The Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m), run at Caulfield Racecourse earlier in the Spring Carnival, is also a good guide and one which many fillies take in en route to the Crown Oaks.

Brazilian Pulse was the last filly to achieve the Wakeful Stakes-Crown Oaks double in 2010 with Hollow Bullet (2004), Serenade Rose (2005) and Faint Perfume (2009) others to achieve the feat in recent years. The last horse to take out the Crown Oaks having landed the Thousand Guineas was Miss Finland in 2006.

Along with a top-class day of racing, Crown Oaks Day is equally busy off the track with Fashion On The Field competitions taking place to crown the best dressed racegoers. The concept was first introduced in 1962 to attract women to the racecourse and it has certainly grown in popularity with Crown Oaks Day being one of the fastest growing in crowd size.

Crown Oaks Winners (Since 2000)

2001Magical Miss
2002Bulla Borghese
2003Special Harmony
2004Hollow Bullet
2005Serenade Rose
2006Miss Finland
2007Arapaho Miss
2008Samantha Miss
2009Faint Perfume
2010Brazilian Pulse
2012Dear Demi
2014Set Square


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as "The Straight Six" course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions - this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages