No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Sir Rupert Clarke 2017

DateSunday, October 1, 2017
TrackCaulfield Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
AgeNo Age Restriction


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes pointers are:

  • Horses at single figure odds are the ones to concentrate on
  • Top weights have a dismal record
  • Four-year-olds have by far the best record
  • The Bobbie Lewis is the key lead-up race


Australia's leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes and all Caulfield races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Underwood Stakes (1800m) which is held for the stayers. Attracting a large field of talented sprinters, the Sir Rupert Clarke is worth $400,000 in prizemoney and allows for a maximum field of 18 runners.

It is a handicap feature that has a minimum weight of 52kg for runners with a low rating and a topweight of 58kg for the highest-rated gallopers in the race.

The Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes has been run under a number of different names, the Invitation Stakes was the inaugural name, but it was changed in 2006 to honour former Victoria Amateur Turf Club (now called the Melbourne Racing Club) chairman Sir Rupert Clarke who died in 2005.

Jovial Lad claimed the inaugural running of the event in 1951. It would remain as a Principal Race until 1978 before receiving Group 1 status from 1979. 

There are a number of lead-up races with runners coming through the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) or Group 2 Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m).

Stratum Star is the most recent winner of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes when claiming the event in 2015 to deliver trainer Darren Weir consecutive wins in the race – Trust In A Gust had won the race 12 months earlier.

It was the Memsie Stakes that Stratum Star used leading into the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes with the four-year-old entire having run third in the Memsie.

One interesting trend is that a high-number of four-year-olds have won the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes in recent decades with 17 of the past 32 winners saluting at the age of four. In fact, the past six winners have all been four-year-olds.

Notable winners of the Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes include Jovial Lad (1951), Tauto (1970-71), Manikato (1978), Mannerism (1992), Poetic King (1994), Encosta De Lago (1996), Testa Rossa (1999 & 2000), Exceed And Excel (2003), Regal Roller (2004), Barely A Moment (2005), Rewaaya (2006), Orange County (2008) and Turffontein (2009).

Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000Testa Rossa
2001Mr Murphy
2003Exceed And Excel
2004Regal Roller
2005Barely A Moment
2007Bon Hoffa
2008Orange County
2011Toorak Toff
2012Moment Of Change
2013Rebel Dane
2014Trust In A Gust
2015Stratum Star
2016Bon Aurum


A fair course that provides most runners an even chance when the rail is True position. When the rail is out shifted our 6 metres or more it favours on pace runners and leaders.

The track’s unique triangular shaped layout comprises of three straights and all turns have a 4% to 6% banking which places less strain on horse’s joints. 


The first Caulfield Cup was run in the autumn of 1879, and was transferred to the spring in 1881. The track was closed during the war and was used as an army camp, with the Caulfield Cup being run at Flemington. 

Renovations to the track and grandstand have made it one of the premier racecourses in Australia with top class facilities for the horses, club members and the public. 

The racecourse is located approximately eight kilometres from the Melbourne CBD, on the boundary of Caulfield and Caulfield East in Melbourne's south eastern suburbs.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages