Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Winterbottom Stakes 2016

DateSaturday, 26 November
TrackAscot Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age
Prize Money$1 million
Age3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Winterbottom Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Winterbottom Stakes pointers are:

  • Winners tend to come from Barrier 1-8
  • A lead-up run in Perth is a major advantage
  • Favourites have a good record in the race


Bookmakers Sportsbet and UBET offer some of the best odds on Perth racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Ascot races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.


The $500,000 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) is Perth’s most prestigious sprint race and is open to all horses three-years-old and above.

The feature event is held alongside the Group 1 Railway Stakes on Perth’s Super Saturday of racing in November and is a major drawcard for some of the country’s top sprinters.

It was first run in 1952 and was won by Raconteur when the race was run over 1400m.

In 1994 the Winterbottom Stakes was installed at its current distance of 1200m and in 2011 the Australian Racing Board Pattern Committee recommended its elevation to Group 1 status.

In 2003 the race ran its only renewal away from Ascot Racecourse when it was held at Belmont Park Racecourse.

Since its inception, three horses have managed to go back-to-back, with La Trice (1970-71), Belinda’s Star (1975-76) and Hadrada (2002-03) achieving the rare feat. 

Internationally-travelled mare Ortensia managed to win two Winterbottom Stakes twice (2009 and 2011) and so did Asteroid (1953 and 1955), but not in consecutive years.

The Winterbottom Stakes has been won by some outstanding sprinters with Placid Ark (1987), Miss Andretti (2005), Takeover Target (2008) and Ortensia being the most popular winners.

And who could forget the epic battle between modern-day sprinting stars Takeover Target and Apache Cat going neck and neck down the Ascot straight with Takeover Target prevailing by the narrowest of margins.

The sprinting duo were two of the most popular sprinters of their time with fairytale story of Takeover Target being purchased for $1200 and Apache Cat displaying an almost all white face which made him a sentimental crowd-favourite.

The race, which was upgraded to Group 1 status in the 2011/12 season, and attracts the best from across the country. Key lead up races include the Group 2 Lee Steere Stakes (1400m) and Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m) while a natural progression sees runners head to the A.J. Scahill Stakes (1400m) in December.

Winterbottom Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000Noble Sky
2001Fair Alert
2005Miss Andretti
2007Glory Hunter
2008Takeover Target


Regarded as the 'grand old lady' of Australian racecourses, Perth’s Ascot Racecourse is a well-drained turf track with a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia. 

Ascot is one of the smaller racecourses in Australia and inside barriers can be an advantage. 

Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction.


Perth Racing (formerly the Western Australian Turf Club) has been hosting thoroughbred race meetings at Ascot Racecourse for over 150 years. 

Although the course hosts three Group 1 events throughout the year, the time-honoured Perth Cup (2400m) remains one of Perth’s feature races and is held on New Year’s Day.

The racecourse is situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth City Centre with the head office of The Western Australian Turf Club positioned directly opposite.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages