No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Tattersall's Tiara 2017

DateSaturday, 24 June, 2017
TrackDoomben Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age, Fillies and Mares
Age3YO and Upwards

Tattersall's Tiara Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Tattersall's Tiara betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Tattersall's Tiara pointers are:

  • Concentrate on horses towards the top of the betting
  • Wide barriers have a good record, but gate 7 is the most successful
  • Three and four-year-olds hold the best record

Where to bet on the Tattersall's Tiara

Bookmakers bet365Ladbrokes and William Hill offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Queensland races, read our guide on "How to make money betting online" or visit our Betting Masterclass section.

Tattersall's Tiara History and Guide

The Tattersall's Tiara, formerly known as the Winter Stakes, is the final Group 1 race of the season in Australia and takes place at Eagle Farm in June each year.

Held on the last day of the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival, the weight-for-age conditions race carries a prize fund of $500,000 and is limited to fillies and mares aged three-years-old and upwards. It is run over the distance of 1400m.

The race was first held in 1989 when introduced as the listed Winter Stakes before being upgraded to a Group 3 contest in 1996 and Group 2 status a decade later. It was quickly made up into a Group 1 and became the Tattersall's Tiara in 2012 when taking on the name of the Tattersall's Racing Club who run and organise the race meeting.

The list of star fillies and mares to have won the Tattersall's Tiara include inaugural winner La Posette (1989), Piper’s Belle (1990), Zetoile (1994), Mamzelle Pedrille (1995), Tripping (1996), Dane Ripper (1997), Bonanova (2000 and 2001), Mon Mekki (2003), Miss Potential (2004), Nova Star (2007), Russeting (2009) and Melito (2010).

The path to the Tattersall's Tiara is traditionally via the Group 3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes, which takes place over 1350m at Doomben Racecourse during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, and the Group 3 Dane Ripper Stakes, which is staged over 1400m at Eagle Farm on Stradbroke Handicap Day two weeks before the Tattersall's Tiara.

Joining the Tattersall's Tiara on the schedule are the Group 3 Tattersall's Cup and the Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes.

The name of the Winter Stakes continues to be used in Australian racing as Warwick Farm stages a listed race of the same name each July.

NOTE: The 2017 Tattersall's Tiara was switched to Doomben and run over 1350m due to problems with the Eagle Farm racetrack.

Tattersall's Tiara Winners (Since 2000)

2001Porto Roca
2003Mon Mekki
2004Miss Potential
2006La Sizeranne
2007Nova Star
2008Absolut Glam
2012Pear Tart
2013Red Tracer
2014Cosmic Endeavour
2016Miss Cover Girl


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and has undergone a major redevelopment and opened up again in 2016.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.

Eagle Farm stages Group 1 racing during the Brisbane Winter Carnival and Queensland Winter Carnival with the track host to the Kingsford-Smith Cup, Queensland Oaks, Queensland Derby, Stradbroke Handicap, JJ Atkins and Tattersall's Tiara.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands. 

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot. 

Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages