Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

2017 All Aged Stakes

DateSaturday, April 15, 2017
TrackRoyal Randwick
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight-for-age
AgeNo restrictions


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and All Aged Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Favourites have an excellent record in the race
  • The outside three barriers are a handy place to be
  • Five-year-olds are the most successful age group since 2000


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the All Aged Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the All Aged Stakes, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) takes place at Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in April or May.

With $400,000 in prizemoney the All Aged Stakes attracts the country’s best sprinters and milers, and in recent times, stayers that are targeting spring feature races have used the race as part of their abbreviated autumn campaign.

In 2013 Fiorente flashed home to finish third in the All Aged Stakes before resuming in the spring to win Australia’s most revered race, the Melbourne Cup (3200m).

The Doncaster Handicap (1600m) held at the same track two weeks earlier used to be a reliable guide to the All Aged but in recent times TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) runners have gone on to win the race, the most recent being Hay List in 2011.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won the 1400m feature and include: Carbine (1889-90), Wakeful (1902), Amounis (1930), Peter Pan (1935), Ajax (1938-40), Bernborough (1946), Tulloch (1958), Tobin Bronze (1967), Emancipation (1984), Rough Habit (1992-93), Sunline (2000 & 2002), Hot Danish (2010) and All Too Hard (2013).

The open weight-for-age race takes place on the last day of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is one of two Group 1 features on the day. Other races to feature on the final day of the carnival are the Group 1 Champagne Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Emancipation Stakes (1600m) and the Group 3 Frank Packer Plate (2000m).

All Aged Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2001El Mirada
2003Arlington Road
2004Private Steer
2007Bentley Biscuit
2008Racing To Win
2010Hot Danish
2011Hay List
2012Atlantic Jewel
2013All Too Hard
2014Hana's Goal


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held. 

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860. 

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand. 

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia's most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages