Queen Elizabeth Stakes 2018

DateSaturday 14 April
TrackRandwick Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age
Prizemoney$4 million
Age3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Queen Elizabeth Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Barriers 1-4 have the best record
  • The Doncaster Mile and Tancred Stakes provide the best lead-up form
  • Horses priced $5 or lower should be focused on


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Queen Elizabeth Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Queen Elizabeth Stakes, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m) takes place at Royal Randwick Racecourse annually at the end of April and is Australia’s richest weight-for-age race.

The race takes place on the penultimate week of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is one of four Group 1 features on the day.

Other feature races on the day include the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m), Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) and Group 1 Coolmore Legacy Stakes (1600m).

The race has seen many facelifts over the years and has been named the AJC Plate (1873-1933), AJC King’s Cup (1934), AJC Plate (1935-1954) and its current name Queen Elizabeth Stakes since 1954.

As well as multiple name changes the race has endured a phenomenal 19 distance changes ranging from 2000 – 4800m.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes attracts the country’s best middle distance and staying horses, and is one of the most prestigious races on the Australian racing calendar.

The Doncaster Mile (1600m) held at the same track two weeks earlier is the most reliable guide to the Queen Elizabeth.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won the premiere weight-for-age event with the most notable in recent times being Grand Armee in 2004-2005.

Cossack won the inaugural Queen Elizabeth Stakes in 1851 when the race was known as the Queen’s Plate and run over the distance of 3 miles.

Other notable winners of the Queen Elizabeth Stakes include: Sportsman (1853-54), Archer (1862), The Barb (1869), Tim Whiffler (1868 & 1870-71), Chester (1878-79), Carbine (1889-91), Wakeful (1902), Poseidon (1908), Phar Lap (1930), Peter Pan (1933), Flight (1946), Tulloch (1958 & 1960-61), Ming Dynasty (1978), Jeune (1995), Might And Power (1998), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2004-05), More Joyous (2012), It's A Dundeel (2014), Criterion (2015), Lucia Valentina (2016) and Winx (2017).

Queen Elizabeth Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000Georgie Boy
2001Shogun Lodge
2004Grand Armee
2005Grand Armee
2007Desert War
2009Pompeii Ruler
2010Road To Rock
2011My Kingdom of Fife
2012More Joyous
2013Reliable Man
2014It's A Dundeel
2016Lucia Valentina


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held. 

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860. 

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand. 

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia's most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.


*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages