Thank you for signing up. 

We've sent you an email. Please click on the link to verify your address.

Win big with FREE Tips from our experts

Get form analyst tips emailed direct...for free.

No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

Rosehill Guineas 2017

DateSaturday 18 March
TrackRosehill Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Prize Money$600,000


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Rosehill Guineas betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • The Randwick Guineas is the best form guide
  • Avoid fillies with the fairer sex having a poor record in the race
  • A low draw is advantageous


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and bet365 are the best places to bet on the Rosehill Guineas and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Rosehill Guineas, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) takes place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse annually in March and is a premier race for three-year-old fillies, colts and geldings.

With $500,000 in prizemoney the Rosehill Guineas attracts the country’s best mile/middle-distance horses and received its current Group 1 status in 1980.

The most reliable guide to the Rosehill Guineas is the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) held two weeks earlier which was formerly known as the Canterbury Guineas. The two races form part of the three-year-old Triple Crown along with the AJC Australian Derby which takes place in the preceding weeks.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won the Rosehill Guineas with the most notable being the mighty Phar Lap winning the race back in 1929.

Other notable winners include Amounis (1925), Ajax (1937), High Castle (1939), Hydrogen (1951), Tulloch (1957), Dulcify (1979), Kingston Town (1980), Naturalism (1992), Octagonal (1996), Tie The Knot (1998), Eremein (2005) and It’s A Dundeel (2013).

The race is also the most reliable lead-up race to the premier three-year-old event of the Autumn Carnival, the Group 1 AJC Australian Derby (2400m) held two weeks later.

This Rosehill Guineas – AJC Australian Derby duo is also one of the great betting doubles available for punters during the Sydney Autumn Carnival, and the last horse to succeed in both races was Eremein in 2005.

The three-year-old set weights race is the seventh Group 1 race of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is complimented on the same afternoon by the $1 million Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m).

Other feature races on the fantastic day of Group racing are the $350,000 Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m), Group 2 Magic Night Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes (1200m), Group 3 Birthday Card Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Epona Stakes (1900m).

Rosehill Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2001Sale Of Century
2002Carnegie Express
2006De Beers
2007He's No Pie Eater
2008Dealer Principle
2009Metal Bender
2011Jimmy Choux
2012Laser Hawk
2013It's A Dundeel


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged. 

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia's most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. 

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin. 

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney's city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages