No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address you certify that you are over 18, agree with our Terms & Conditions and indicate your consent to receiving email messages from us.

The Galaxy 2018

DateSaturday 24 March
TrackRosehill Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize Money$700,000
Age3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and The Galaxy betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Don't concentrate of one specific lead-up race - runners come from a variety of form lines
  • Favourites have a terrible record in the race
  • Don't be put off by wide barriers or roughies


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, CrownBet, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on The Galaxy and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on The Galaxy, read our guide on "How to make money betting online".


The Group 1 The Galaxy takes place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse annually in late March during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is an Open Handicap race for sprinters.

The race was transferred to Rosehill in 2013 after being run at Royal Randwick and Warwick Farm Racecourses in previous years.

It attracts some high quality gallopers and is part of a fantastic day of racing.

In 2010, Ortensia won The Galaxy but was disqualified for a positive drug test and the race win was awarded to Shellscrape.

Runners that have performed well in The Galaxy have the option of tackling the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick Racecourse two weeks later.

The most reliable lead-up races to The Galaxy are the Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse two weeks earlier.

It was first run in 1972 when won by Playbill and has grown to become one of the most exciting sprint races of the carnival as it attracts the most accomplished sprinters from around Australia.

Since then, some classy sprinters have won the race during its short but illustrious history, including Bletchingly (1975), Luskin Star (1978), Snippets (1988), Schillaci (1992), La Baraka (1998), Charge Forward (2005), Temple Of Boom (2012), Bel Sprinter (2013), Tiger Tees (2014), Sweet Idea (2015), Griante (2016) and Russian Revolution (2017).

The Galaxy Winners (Since 2000)

2000Black Bean
2004Spark Of Life
2005Charge Forward
2008Typhoon Zed
2011Atomic Force
2012Temple Of Boom
2013Bel Sprinter
2014Tiger Tees
2015Sweet Idea
2017Russian Revolution


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged. 

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia's most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. 

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin. 

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney's city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.

QLD BONUS BETS United States
Change State

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

You have unread messages

You have unread messages