AFL Grand Final 2020 | Everything You Need To Know

AFL Grand Final 2020

The AFL Grand Final will be played outside of Victoria for the first time in 123 years as Richmond aim for back-to-back premierships against Geelong on Sunday night in Brisbane.

AFL Grand Final 2020 – read on below for all the information you need regarding the premiership decider, including the schedule, dates, expert tips, predictions and more.

AFL Grand Final Schedule

๐ŸŸ Venue: Gabba, Brisbane
๐Ÿ—“ Date: Saturday October 24
โฐ Time: 6.30pm local time (7.30pm AEDT)

AFL Grand Final 2020 Tips

Our AFL expert has backed Richmond to make it back-to-back premierships on Saturday night.

At the time of writing, you can get odds of $1.80 for the Tigers to claim the flag at Ladbrokes.


AFL Grand Final Same Game Multi Tips

Our AFL same game multi expert will put together his best selections for the match in the days ahead of the final. We will link you to his selections once available.

AFL Grand Final 2020 Teams

Check back here when Richmond and Geelong announce their teams for the Grand Final. Weโ€™ll have the line-ups as soon as they become available.

AFL Grand Final 2020 Odds

Richmond have opened as slight favourites with Sportsbet after edging minor premiers Port Adelaide in the preliminary finals.

Richmond – $1.80
Geelong – $2.10

Previous AFL Grand Final Winners (last 10 years)


Year ๐Ÿ—“ Premiers ๐Ÿ† Runner-Up ๐Ÿฅˆ Score ๐Ÿ‰
2019 Richmond GWS 114-25
2018 West Coast Collingwood 79-74
2017 Richmond Adelaide 108-60
2016 Western Bulldogs Sydney 89-67
2015 Hawthorn West Coast 107-61
2014 Hawthorn Sydney 137-74
2013 Hawthorn Fremantle 77-62
2012 Sydney Hawthorn 91-81
2011 Geelong Collingwood 119-81
2010 Collingwood St Kilda 108-52


The 2020 AFL Grand Final will take place on Saturday October 24.

The 2020 AFL Grand Final will be played at the Gabba in Brisbane. Itโ€™s the first time the premiership showpiece will be held outside of Victoria in 123 years.

Itโ€™s been confirmed by the AFL that the 2020 Grand Final will be a night game, kicking off at 6.30pm local time in Brisbane and 7.30pm AEDT.

The Grand Final will be broadcast live and free-to-air on Channel 7.

Due to contractual obligations, Fox Footy and Kayo cannot show the Grand Final live and instead will replay the final later that night.

Under the current finals system, eight teams qualify and are split into the top four and bottom four. The top four battle it out in Week 1 of the Finals for the chance to advance into the preliminary finals, while the bottom four square off for the opportunity to progress into Week 2, with the two losing sides being eliminated.

The two winners of the bottom four face the two losers of the top four in Week 2. The two winners in Week 2 of the Finals then move on to face the Week 1 winners in the preliminary finals in Week 3. The two winning teams then collide in the Grand Final for the right to claim the premiership.

Yes. The AFL introduced the pre-finals bye after North Melbourne and Fremantle chose to rest half their teams in the last round of the 2015 season when they had confirmed their spots, meaning their weakened sides affected other results in the last round of the regular season.

A crowd of around 30,000 fans are expected to be allowed into the Gabba for the Grand Final, although the AFL will confirm the exact number shortly.

It has been confirmed that 54 per cent of tickets allocated will go to members of the competing teams, split evenly. The remaining tickets will then go on sale to the general public. Click here for all the latest info for how you can purchase AFL Grand Final tickets.

Essendon and Carlton have won the most AFL/VFL premierships with 16 each. Out of the current teams, only Fremantle, Gold Coast and GWS have failed to win a premiership.

Itโ€™s not yet confirmed who will be performing, but due to travel restrictions, itโ€™s likely to be Australian artists, with Queensland acts likely to be among the performers.

The Voice alum Tim McCallum will sing the national anthem at the Grand Final.

Former North Melbourne and Port Adelaide star Byron Pickett will present the Norm Smith Medal for this yearโ€™s player of the match.

Load More