Ranvet Stakes Betting Tips - How does history help us find the winner?

  • With the exception of a couple of blowouts, favourites have a great record in the Ranvet Stakes
  • Majority of winners come out of the Chipping Norton Stakes
  • How does the Australian Cup form stack up?
Contributer won the Ranvet Stakes in 2015

The Ranvet Stakes (2000m) is one of the feature middle distance races of the Sydney autumn and has been won by some star gallopers in the past including Grand Armee in 2005, Tie The Knot in 2000/2001 and Tulloch back in 1958. 

In recent times, it has provided an interesting mix of results with a number of favoured runners dominating, while there have also been a couple of blowouts. 

Zavite claimed the Ranvet as a $101 chance in 2011, while Foreteller scored at $31 in 2013. Republic Lass upstaged the mighty Northerly in 2003 at the odds of $8. 

In analysing the trends of the race since the year 2000, there are a number of things to consider when it comes to picking a winner in the $700,000 Group 1. 

The average price of the winning horses has been $11.50 in that time period but take Zavite out of the equation and that price tumbles down to $6. 

Nine of 18 favourites have won since 2000 including Contributer in 2015 as well as Theseo in 2009/2010. This year, Gailo Chop is a $1.80 favourite in early markets with CrownBet and will be out to join Tie The Knot (2001) and Grand Armee (2005) as other gallopers to win at 'odds-on'. 

A feature of this year’s race is the small field of nine runners, which is the same as the long-term average of nine. Interestingly, 12 of the 18 winners since the year 2000 have drawn between barrier's 1 to 4.  This year, Single Gaze, Prized Icon, Classic Uniform and Gailo Chop are in those spots. 

Harlem (1st), Gailo Chop (2nd), Ventura Storm (3rd), Single Gaze (5th) and The Taj Mahal (7th) are contenders that come out of the Australian Cup (2000m), which was ran a fortnight ago. 

However, the ideal lead up to the Ranvet over the journey has been the Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m), accounting for 10 of the past 18 winners. Prized Icon and Classic Uniform ran in that race this year finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively. 

Four winners have come out of the Australian Cup including Foreteller in 2013 and Manighar in 2012. The United States came out of the Blamey Stakes (1600m) at Flemington in 2016. 

A feature of this year's edition of the Ranvet is that there are no three-year-olds and only the two mares, Single Gaze and Consensus. Silent Achiever, Tuesday Joy, Sound Action and Repulic Lass are the mares to have won the Ranvet since 2000. 

The Taj Mahal and Prized Icon's are four-year-olds in the race this year and that age group have won the Ranvet on five occasions since 2000 but the most successful age group in the race in that time period has been the six-year-olds with seven winners. Harlem, Sarrasin and Consensus are that age this year. 

Guy Walter and Gai Waterhouse have been the most successful trainers since 2000. Of the jockeys, Kerrin McEvoy, Glen Boss and Nash Rawiler are multiple winners since 2000 but none have a runner this year. 

Selection according to trends

Gailo Chop looks to be the go. The value may be with Classic Uniform. 

Upcoming Events

BONUS BETS United States

*Over 18s only. Wagering requirements apply. State exclusions apply to some offers. Exc. NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Please read the T&Cs of each offer with each bookmaker.

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

Ranvet Stakes Betting Tips - How does history help us find the winner?

What are the recent trends in the Ranvet Stakes?

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages