Robert Sangster Stakes Tips & Betting advice

Robert Sangster Stakes 2018

Date Saturday, May 5, 2018
Track Morphettville Racecourse
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age, Fillies and Mares
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Robert Sangster Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Horses from Victoria have an excellent record
  • Four-year-olds have been the dominant age group
  • A wide draw is advantageous

Where to bet on the Robert Sangster Stakes

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet offer some of the best odds on Morphettville racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

Robert Sangster Stakes History and Guide

The Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes (1200m) takes place at Adelaide’s Morphettville Racecourse annually in April or early May during the Adelaide Racing Carnival.

The race was held in February prior to 2006 and is a weight-for-age sprint race for fillies and mares aged three years and upward.

The Robert Sangster Stakes has traditionally been targeted by the best local fillies and mares but since the race took on Group 1 status in 2005, it has attracted a classier field. There is no consistent lead-up race to the Robert Sangster.

The race is held alongside the Group 1 Australasian Oaks (2000m) on what is known as South Australia’s richest day of racing.

Other races on the day include the Group 2 Queen of the South Stakes (1600m), Group 3 SA Chairmans Stakes (2000m) and the Group 3 DC McKay Stakes (1100m).

First run in 1983, the race was won by Ranee’s Palace when it was named the Swettenham Stud Stakes and was run as a Special race.

High-quality mares that have won the Robert Sangster, such as Black Caviar in 2012, have the option of backing up two weeks later in the Group 1 The Goodwood (1200m) at Morphettville.

Other famous horses to win the race include: Dantelah (1999), Our Egyptian Raine (2003), Alinghi (2005), Bel Mer (2009), Rostova (2010), Platelet (2013), Driefontein (2014), Miracles Of Life (2015) and Secret Agenda (2017).

Robert Sangster Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Bella Vella
2019 Spright
2018 Shoals
2017 Secret Agenda
2016 Precious Gem
2015 Miracles Of Life
2014 Driefontein
2013 Platelet
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Response
2010 Rostova
2009 Bel Mer
2008 Juste Momente
2007 Universal Queen
2006 Ellicorsam
2005 Alinghi
2004 French Bid
2003 Our Egyptian Raine
2002 Suzy Grey
2001 Umaline
2000 Rain Dance Lady


Since the tracks resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere. With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.

Morphettville Racecourse History

Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks.