South Australian Derby Tips & Betting advice

South Australian Derby 2019

Date Saturday, May 11, 2019
Track Morphettville Racecourse
Distance 2500m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $600,000
Age 3YO


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and South Australian Derby betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Interstate runners have the better record in the race in recent years
  • But a last start run at Morphettville is beneficial
  • Barrier 5 or lower is an advantage


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and BetEasy offer some of the best odds on Morphettville racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

SA Derby History and Guide

One of the highlights of the Adelaide Racing Carnival, the South Australian Derby takes place at Morphettville Racecourse at the end of April or beginning of May each year. 

It is a Group 1 race in which some smart three-year-olds horses compete under set weight conditions over the staying trip of 2500m.

Held over a variety of distances since its inception in 1860, when won by a horse named Midnight, the current 2500m trip was settled on in 2001. Previously, the race had been elevated to its Group 1 status in 1979 with Top Ware winning the first held as a Group 1 race.

The race is the premier staying race for three-year-olds during the Adelaide Racing Carnival and attracts South Australia’s leading performed, who will usually have performed throughout the carnival, as well as raiders from Sydney and Melbourne.

The lead up to the South Australian Derby includes running in the Group 3 Chairman’s Stakes over 2000m, held a week early on Australasian Oaks day at Morphettville. Three-year-old fillies occasionally take on the colts having run in the Schweppes Oaks a week early, while a route via the Sydney Autumn Carnival and the Australian Derby is also a popular journey to the South Australian Derby.

The 2008 and 2015 South Australian Derby winners Zarita and Delicacy were the last fillies to win the race having already won the Australasian Oaks a week earlier.

The South Australian Derby has been won by notable names including Melbourne Cup winner Subzero, who did the double in 1992, and Mummify, who went on to land the Caulfield Cup in 2003 following victory in the Morphettville classic.

South Australian Derby winners Shivas Revenge (1991) and Count Chivas (1995) both went agonisingly close to Melbourne Cup glory when finishing runner-up at Flemington.

South Australian Derby Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Russian Camelot
2019 Qafila
2018 Leicester
2017 Volatile Mix
2016 Howard Be Thy Name
2015 Delicacy
2014 Kushadasi
2013 Escado
2012 Zabeelionaire
2011 Shadows In The Sun
2010 Kidnapped
2009 Rebel Raider
2008 Zarita
2007 Lazer Sharp
2006 Testifiable
2005 Tails Of Triomphe
2004 Hard To Get
2003 Mummify
2002 Pantani
2001 Big Pat
2000 Blue Murder


Since the track’s resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere. With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.


Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks.