The Goodwood Tips & Betting advice

The Goodwood 2019

Date Saturday, May 18, 2019
Track Morphettville Racecourse
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $750,000

Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and The Goodwood betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Roughies have an excellent record
  • Barriers don’t have a big impact on the result
  • Victoria trainers have dominated in recent times


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and TAB offer some of the best odds on Morphettville racing throughout the year. Or check out the current top 5 bookmakers below.

The Goodwood History and Guide

The Goodwood Stakes is held at Morphettville Racecourse in May each year and is the premier sprint race staged during the Adelaide Racing Carnival.

A Group 1 race held over 1200m, it is the richest race of the autumn carnival. It is a set weights contest with three-year-old and upwards horses subject to penalty conditions depending on the level of their previous successes achieved on the track. The race had been a handicap until 2007 when it became the set weights race it is today.

Some of Australia’s smartest sprinters are attracted to South Australia for the race, which was won in 2012 by the unbeaten mare Black Caviar. The names of greats Boardwalk Angel (1989), Euclase (1992), Sword (1996), Bomber Bill (2003), Super Elegant (2004), Takeover Target (2009), Black Heart Bart (2016), Vega Magic (2017) and Santa Ana Lane (2018) are also firmly etched on an illustrious roll of honour.

Regular Victorian and Sydney performers head to South Australia to take on Adelaide’s best sprinters, who will potentially have taken in the Group 3 R N Irwin Stakes over 1100m, Group 3 DC McKay Stakes over 1100m or the Group 1 TAB Classic for fillies and mares (1200m) en route to a crack at The Goodwood Stakes. Black Caviar took the UBET Classic route in 2012.

The Goodwood Stakes is the feature race of a stellar day of horse racing that also includes the Group 3 National Stakes (1200m), the Group 3 SA Fillies Classic (2500m), the Group 3 Queen’s Cup (2500m), the Group 3 R A Lee Stakes (1600m), the Listed Centaurea Stakes (2009m), the Listed Laelia Stakes (1600m) and the Listed Proud Miss Stakes (1200m).

The Goodwood Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Trekking
2019 Despatch
2018 Santa Ana Lane
2017 Vega Magic
2016 Black Heart Bart
2015 Flamberge
2014 Smokin’ Joey
2013 Platelet
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Lone Rock
2010 Velocitea
2009 Takeover Target
2008 Shadoways
2007 Let Go Thommo
2006 Perfectly Ready
2005 Glamour Puss
2004 Super Elegant
2003 Bomber Bill
2002 Zip Zip Aray
2001 Keeper
2000 Marstic


Since the track’s resurfacing in 2002, it has been rated as the best racecourse in the Southern Hemisphere. With its wide and open course, Morphettville remains one of the fairest circuits for horses to race on.


Morphettville Racecourse is South Australia’s largest and premier race track and plays host to up to 70 days of racing action throughout the year.

Located less than 10km from the Adelaide CBD, Morphettville’s race meetings are split between its two tracks; the Morphettville course proper and the Morphettville Parks circuit.

The Parks was official opened in June 2009 and being the inside circuit it has a smaller diameter and is narrower than the course proper.

The SAJC created a world first when installing a retractable winning post with hydraulics that enables the flexibility to alternate the running of races with minimal damage to both tracks.