Doomben Cup Tips & Betting advice

Doomben Cup 2019

Date Saturday, May 18, 2019
Track Doomben Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $700,000
Age 3YO and Upwards

Doomben Cup Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Doomben Cup betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Doomben Cup pointers are:

  • Favourites don’t have a great record
  • Mares have a poor record in the race
  • Five and six-year-olds are the best to concentrate on
  • The Hollindale Cup offers the best form guide

Where to bet on the Doomben Cup

Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet offer some of the best odds on Doomben racing throughout the year. Or check out the current top 5 bookmakers below.

Doomben Cup history and guide

The Doomben Cup takes place in mid-May each year and is one of the major races staged at Doomben Racecourse during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

A weight-for-age race for horses aged three and upwards, the Doomben Cup is run over 2000m and attracts some of the best middle-distance and staying performers bidding for success in the Group 1 race.

Doomben Cup Day is one of the biggest days of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival with four other Group races joining it on the schedule as well as two listed contests – the others being the Group 3 The Roses, Group 3 BRC Sprint, Group 3 Fred Best Classic, Group 3 Lord Mayor’s Cup, Listed Dalrello Stakes and Listed Lancaster Stakes.

The Doomben Cup was first held in 1933 when won by Pentheus and was held over varying distances between 2000m and 2160 until the current trip was settled on in 1990. Ten years earlier in 1980, it had been staged as a Group 1 race for the first time with victory going to Golden Rhapsody.

The Doomben Cup has been won by some major names in Australian racing including Rough Habit, who is the only horse ever to win three successive Doomben Cups having made the race his own between 1991 and 1993.

He is joined on the roll of honour by the familiar names of Bernborough (1946), Earlwood (1959-60), Lord Ben (1974), Marceau (1978), in the earlier years, and more recently by Danewin (1995), Juggler (1996), Might And Power (1998), Intergaze (1999), Mr Bureaucrat (2002), Above Deck (2006), Metal Bender (2010), Scenic Shot (2011), Beaten Up (2013), Streama (2014), Pornichet (2015), Our Ivanhowe (2016) and Comin’ Through (2018).

The most popular route to the Doomben Cup is via the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes, which takes place over 1800m at Gold Coast Racecourse two weeks earlier. Doomben Cup runners will then likely head on to contest the Group 2 PJ O’Shea Stakes or the Group 2 Brisbane Cup.

Doomben Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Akhenaton
2001 King Keitel
2002 Mr Bureaucrat
2003 Bush Padre
2004 Defier
2005 Perlin
2006 Above Deck
2007 Cinque Cento
2008 Sarrera
2009 Scenic Shot
2010 Metal Bender
2011 Scenic Shot
2012 Mawingo
2013 Beaten Up
2014 Streama
2015 Pornichet
2016 Our Ivanhowe
2017 Sense Of Occasion
2018 Comin’ Through
2019 Kenedna


Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper.

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.


Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks.

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War.

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities.