Ipswich Cup Tips & BETTING ADVICE

Ipswich Cup History and guide

The Listed Ipswich Cup (2150m) takes place at Queensland’s Ipswich racecourse annually in June during the Queensland Winter Racing Carnival and is run under handicap conditions. 

With the majority of the busy Queensland and Brisbane Winter Carnivals being held at Doomben and Eagle Farm, Ipswich hosts just one Saturday meeting during the carnival with the Ipswich Cup being the feature race on the card.

With $175,000 in prizemoney, the Ipswich Cup generally attracts a quality field of upcoming stayers and proven performers that are looking to recapture some form after struggling in Group company.

First run in 1950 as a Principal race over 10 furlongs (approximately 2000m), the event was won by Gold Hawl in a time of 2.04.5 and has grown in stature since.

The race was elevated to Listed level in 1980 before taking on Group 3 status in 1986 and then being relegated back to a Listed race in 2006.

Originally run as a 10 furlong race, the Ipswich Cup distance was raised to 2100m in 1973 and was then raised to 2150m in 1997 and has remained at that distance ever since.

With the handicap conditions making it difficult for horses to win consecutive Ipswich Cups, there has only been one dual winner of the race with the Robert Heathcote-trained Our Lukas winning back-to-back races in 2009-10 before finishing 3rd in 2011.

In recent times, Heathcote has been joined as a dual winner of the race by Michael Moroney (Shenzhou Steeds 2012 & He’s Back On Track 1997), Gai Waterhouse (Bianca 2008 & Beachside 1993) Peter McKenzie (Sculptor 2007 & I Reign Supreme 2000) and Laurie Mayfield-Smith (Fine Spy 1996 & Appleton Gold 1991).

Local rider Jim Byrne is the most successful rider in recent times, winning three races with Sphenophyta (2006), He’s Back On Track (1997) and Ardeed (1995).

The Bryan Guy-trained Anagold is the most recent winner of the race after surprising punters in 2013 when saluting at massive odds when paying $41 at race jump.

Other popular winners of the race include: Forest Jim (2005), Portland Singa (2004), Bore Head (1964) and Clever Beau (1954).

Where to bet on the Ipswich Cup

Bookmakers bet365 and Sportsbet offer some of the best odds on Ipswich racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit at Ipswich races, read our guide on “How to make money betting online” or visit our Betting Masterclass section.