JJ Atkins

JJ Atkins Tips, Field & Odds

The Group 1 JJ Atkins (1400m) will be run at Eagle Farm on Saturday, June 6 and provides you with a comprehensive guide to the race.

Read More

JJ Atkins Tips & Betting advice

JJ Atkins 2019

Date Saturday, June 8, 2019
Track Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $600,000
Age 2YO

JJ Atkins Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and JJ Atkins betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key JJ Atkins pointers are:

  • The Sires Produce Stakes is traditionally the best guide
  • Favourites have a strong record in the race
  • Barriers 2-6 hold the best recent record

Where to bet on the JJ Atkins

Bookmakers Sportsbet and Ladbrokes offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

JJ Atkins History and Guide

The JJ Atkins is a Group 1 race for two-year-olds and takes place each June on Stradbroke Handicap Day.

Formerly known as the TJ Smith before changing names in 2013 to honour legendary Queensland trainer Jim Atkins, it is run over the 1600m distance and sees two-year-old carrying set weights.

The JJ Atkins was first run back in 1897 when known as the Claret Stakes and won by Common, and was elevated to Group 2 status in 1980. Five years later it was upgraded to a Group 1 and since a number of horses have gone on to great things after running in the JJ Atkins during their debut seasons.

The route to the JJ Atkins typically takes in the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes with the two races forming a popular betting double each year. Among those to complete the double are Slight Chance (1992), Mahogany (1993), Anthems (1996), Al Mansour (1997), Juanmo (2001), Lovely Jubly (2002) and Sizzling, who won both in 2012.

It forms part of the richest day of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, joining the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, Group 1 Queensland Derby, Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes, Group 2 Brisbane Cup and four other listed races.

JJ Atkins Winners (Since 2000)

2020 Rothfire
2019 Prince Fawaz
2018 The Autumn Sun
2017 Capital Gain
2016 Sacred Elixir
2015 Press Statement
2014 Almalad
2013 Romantic Touch
2012 Sizzling
2011 Benfica
2010 Pressday
2009 Linky Dink
2008 Rockdale
2007 Apercu
2006 Reigning To Win
2005 Darci Brahma
2004 Outback Prince
2003 Picaday
2002 Lovely Jubly
2001 Juanmo
2000 Show A Heart


Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval-shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.

The course proper has a circumference of 2027m and the home straight is 434m long.


Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register in 2004.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands.

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot.

Eagle Farm has undergone a major redevelopment pning almost two years and reopened during the 2016 Brisbane Winter Carnival.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.