Kingsford-Smith Cup Tips & Betting advice

Kingsford-Smith Cup 2019

DateSaturday, 25 May, 2019
TrackEagle Farm Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeWeight for Age

Age3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Kingsford-Smith Cup betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

  • The race replaced the BTC Cup in 2017
  • Apache Cat and Black Caviar are former winners

  • Doomben 10,000 is a key lead up race


Bookmakers SportsbetLadbrokes and BetEasy offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or check out the current top 5 bookmakers below.

Kingsford-Smith Cup History and Guide

The Kingsford-Smith Cup was introduced as a new race in 2017 and is the first Group 1 to take place at Eagle Farm during the Brisbane Winter Carnival.

The race replaces the BTC Cup, which was previously the first major race of the Carnival at Doomben Racecourse before a rejig of the Brisbane schedule.

Run over the sprint distance of 1300m, the Kingsford-Smith Cup is an open weight for age race and pits some of the best talents together chasing a Group 1 prize. Some will be making their seasonal debuts, while other will be back from a short break following the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

The BTC Cup was first held in 1964, when known as the BATC J.T. Delaney Quality Handicap and won by Rashlore. The race has been held under several different names during its existence with the BTC Cup name settled upon in 2009. Its stock has risen significantly throughout the years with the race becoming a Group 1 contest in 2006, the year in which Gee I Jane caused a shock.

Some notable names are on the roll of honour of the BTC Cup, not least the unbeaten Black Caviar, who took the race in 2011, and smart sprinters Falvelon, a dual winner, Apache Cat, Vinegar Joe, Strawberry Road, High Regard, Accomplice, Lord Essex, Albert The Fat and back-to-back BTC Cup winner Buck’s Pride.

The distance of the race was lengthened to 1300m when becoming the Kingsford-Smith Cup.

Kingsford-Smith Cup Winners (Since 2000)

BTC Cup (1200m)
2002Lord Essex
2004Thorn Park
2005Spark Of Life
2006Gee I Jane
2007Bentley Biscuit
2008Apache Cat
2010Albert The Fat
2011Black Caviar
2012Sea Siren
2013Your Song
2014Famous Seamous
2015Hot Snitzel
Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m)
2017Clearly Innocent
2019The Bostonian

Eagle Farm Track Description

Eagle Farm Racecourse is an even oval-shaped track with sweeping bends on either side of the straight. Races are conducted in a clockwise direction.

The course proper has a circumference of 2027m and the home straight is 434m long.

Eagle Farm Racecourse History

Eagle Farm Racecourse is one of Queensland’s premier racecourses and was listed on the Queensland Heritage Register in 2004.

The Eagle Farm Racecourse was established in 1863 and had its main grandstand completed in 1890. Hunter and Corrie and architect John H. Buckeridge jointly designed the grandstands which are known as the Paddock Stands.

In 1941 Eagle Farm Racecourse was taken over by the military authorities to house thousands of American troops during the Pacific War. It was then known as U.S. Camp Ascot.

Eagle Farm has undergone a major redevelopment pning almost two years and reopened during the 2016 Brisbane Winter Carnival.

It is located at one end of Racecourse Road in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7km from the Brisbane CBD. Doomben Racecourse is located nearby in the same suburb.

Top Bookmakers

Sportsbet Australian Open
  • Australia's Number 1 Bookmaker
  • Australian Open - 4 Games Up In Any Set...You Win!
  • Same Game Multis
  • MAXCODE Referral Code
  • Racing Infohub
  • Live Racing and Sports Streams
  • 100RACING Referral Code
  • Watch Every Australian Race Live
  • Top Odds and Markets