Queensland Oaks Tips & Betting advice

Queensland Oaks 2019

Date Saturday, June 1, 2019
Track Doomben Racecourse
Distance 2200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 3YO Fillies

Queensland Oaks Betting Selections and Tips

Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Queensland Oaks betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Queensland Oaks pointers are:

  • Roughies do well with a number of longshot winners saluting
  • Barriers don’t play a huge role so wide draws aren’t off-putting
  • The Doomben Roses is the key lead up race

Where to bet on the Queensland Oaks

Bookmakers BetEasy and Ladbrokes offer some of the best odds on Queensland racing throughout the year. Or check out the current top 5 bookmakers below.

Queensland Oaks History and Guide

Held in late May or early June each year, the Group 1 Queensland Oaks is the premier staying race for three-year-old fillies staged during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The last female Classic before the end of season’s major action, the Group 1 race attracts some of the smartest performers to Queensland each year.

It is a set-weights race staged over the staying distance of 2400m and is now staged at Doomben Racecourse on the same day as the Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m) during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

The Queensland Oaks was first run in 1951 when won by Maltmaid and earned Group 1 status in 1979, the year in which Prunella was successful. There have been some major names on the roll of honour since including that of Ethereal, who won the Queensland Oaks in 2001 before taking out the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup last that year. Mighty mare Winx won the race in 2015 before embarking on her long unbeaten run.

Race record holder Arctic Scent (1988), Triscay (1991), Slight Chance (1993), The Jewel (2003), Cinque Cento (2005), Heavenly Glow (2008), Purple (2009), Scarlett Lady (2011), Egg Tart (2017) and Youngstar (2018) are among the other familiar names to have won the Queensland Oaks during their careers. There have, however, been plenty of upsets down the years with the Queensland Oaks no stranger to big priced winners.

The traditional lead-up race to the Queensland Oaks is the Group 3 Doomben Roses over 2000m, staged at Doomben Racecourse two weeks earlier. Ethereal and Scarlett Lady are the most recent fillies to have completed the Doomben Roses-Queensland Oaks double.

Queensland Oaks Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Giovana
2001 Ethereal
2002 Mon Mekki
2003 Zagalia
2004 Vouvray
2005 Vitesse Dane
2006 Allow
2007 Eskimo Queen
2008 Riva San
2009 Purple
2010 Miss Keepsake
2011 Scarlett Lady
2012 Quintessential
2013 Gondokoro
2014 Tinto
2015 Winx
2016 Provocative
2017 Egg Tart
2018 Youngstar
2019 Winning Ways


Races are run in a clockwise direction, while the track is a turf track and is banked at varying degrees around the course proper.

Front runners have a distinct advantage at Doomben, especially when the track is rain-affected.


Doomben Racecourse is located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and is the smaller of Brisbane’s two metropolitan tracks.

It is situated in the suburb of Ascot, approximately 7 kilometres north of the Brisbane CBD.

The racecourse’s construction was completed in 1933 and was subsequently shut down during the Second World War, when it was used by allied troops during the Pacific War.

The course reopened in 1946 when the TM Ahern Cup and the Doomben Cup were held for the first time. The Doomben Cup is now considered to be one of the best middle-distance racing events in the country.

Doomben received a major upgrade in 1982, and is now home to world class facilities.