Latest News and Tips

Magic Millions Cup

Date Saturday, 11 January, 2020
Track Gold Coast
Distance 1400m
Class Listed Restricted
Race Type Quality Handicap
Prize Money $1 million
Age Three-year-olds and upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Magic Millions Cup betting selections available for the feature race.

Some key Magic Millions Cup pointers are:

  • Local horses have a fantastic record in the race
  • The Villiers Stakes is among the key lead up races along with the Listed Goldmarket (1300m) at Gold Coast, and a 1350m Handicap at Doomben


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet offer some of the best odds on Gold Coast racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Magic Millions (MM) Cup (1400m) takes place at the Gold Coast Racecourse annually in January and is one of three feature events during the Gold Coast Summer Carnival.

The race is for three-year-olds and over and takes place on MM Day being one of eight races on the card for horses purchased at the MM Yearling Sales.

The MM Cup attracts some of the country’s best sprinter/milers that have been purchase through the MM yearling Sales.

Other races on the day include the MM 2YO Classic (1200m), MM 3YO Guineas (1400m), MM Sprint (1000m), MM Stayers Cup (1800m), MM Fillies and Mares Handicap (1300m), MM Maiden Plate (1200m) and the MM Class 6 Plate (1200m).

This rich sprint was added to the Magic Millions carnival in 2003 and the inaugural running was taken out by the Clarrie Conners-trained Cosmic Rays.

Local horses have a fantastic record in the race with trainers Alan Bailey (Amex, 2004), Maryann Thexton (Warrior Trader, 2007) and Bryan Guy (Masai Pride, 2009) all defying the strong interstate challengers.

There is no definitive lead-up race to the MM Cup but the last three winners of the race have competed in the Group 2 Villiers Stakes (1600m) in Sydney, Listed Goldmarket (1300m) at Gold Coast, and a 1350m Handicap at Doomben.

Past winners of the MM Cup include: Amex (2004), Inspire (2005), Plans (2006), Warrior Trader (2007), Theseo (2008), Masai Pride (2009), Walking Or Dancing (2010), Bold Glance (2011), Spirit Of Boom (2012), Triple Elegance (2013), Lucky Hussler (2016) and Care To Think (2018)

Magic Millions Cup Winners (Since 2003)

2003 Cosmic Rays
2004 Amex
2005 Inspire
2006 Plans
2007 Warrior Trader
2008 Theseo
2009 Masai Pride
2010 Walking Or Dancing
2011 Bold Glance
2012 Spirit Of Boom
2013 Triple Elegance
2014 Velrosso
2015 Spurtonic
2016 Lucky Hussler
2017 Testashadow
2018 Care To Think
2019 Redouble