Australian Cup Tips & Betting Advice

2020 Australian Cup

Date Saturday 7 March
Track  Flemington Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class  Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-age
Prizemoney $1.5 million
Age No Age Restrictions


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Australian Cup betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Favourites have a poor record in the race
  • Wide barriers are not a disadvantage
  • The Peter Young Stakes is the key lead up race


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Australian Cup (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Australian Cup streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Australian Cup live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy and Sportsbet are the best places to bet on the Australian Cup and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Australian Cup (2000m) takes place at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse annually in late February or early March and is the premier middle distance weight-for-age race during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival.

With a $1.5 million prize fund, it attracts the country’s best middle distance/staying types and is accompanied by the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) on what is known as Melbourne’s ‘Super Saturday’ of racing.

Other races on Super Saturday include the Group 2 Blamey Stakes (1600m), Group 2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Kewney Stakes (1400m), Group 3 Thoroughbred Breeders Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Matron Stakes (1600m).

The best form race coming into the Australian Cup is the Group 2 Peter Young Stakes (1800m) held at Caulfield two weeks earlier.

First run in 1863, the Australian Cup was won by Barwon when the race was a Principal race and run over a gruelling 3627m.

The long and illustrious honour roll lists the who’s who of Australian racing with the most recent winner being Super Cool in 2013.

Other former winners of the Australian Cup include Malua (1886), Marauder (1938), Bore Head (1967), Leilani (1975), Ming Dynasty (1978 & 1980), Dulcify (1979), Hyperno (1981), Bonecrusher (1987), Vo Rogue (1989-90), Better Loosen Up (1991), Let’s Elope (1992), Veandercross (1993), Saintly (1996), Octagonal (1997), Dane Ripper (1998), Northerly (2001 & 2003), Lonhro (2004), Makybe Diva (2005), Zipping (2010), Shocking (2011), Manighar (2012), Super Cool (2013), Fiorente (2014), Preferment (2016) and Humidor (2017).

Australian Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Intergaze
2001 Northerly
2002 Old Comrade
2003 Northerly
2004 Lonhro
2005 Makybe Diva
2006 Roman Arch
2007 Pompeii Ruler
2008 Sirmione
2009 Niconero
2010 Zipping
2011 Shocking
2012 Manighar
2013 Super Cool
2014 Fiorente
2015 Spillway
2016 Preferment
2017 Humidor
2018 Harlem
2019 Harlem

2020 Fifty Stars


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.