Australian Guineas Tips & Betting Advice

Australian Guineas 2020

Date Saturday 29 February
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Australian Guineas betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • CS Hayes Stakes and The Vanity are strong lead up references
  • Favourites have a poor record in the race in recent years
  • Don’t be put off by backing roughies
  • Double figure barriers are a big negative


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Australian Guineas (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Australian Guineas streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Australian Guineas live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy and Sportsbet are the best places to bet on the Australian Guineas and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Australian Guineas (1600m) takes place at Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse annually in late February or early March during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival and is a set-weights race for three-year-olds.

With a $500,000 prize fund, the race attracts the country’s top three-year-old fillies, colts and geldings, with the fillies carrying 54.5kg and the colts and geldings carrying 56.5kg.

The Australian Guineas is the feature race on the Flemington card, with the only other significant race on the day being the Group 3 Frances Tressady Stakes (1400m).

Taking place on the first day of the two-day VRC Autumn Carnival, the Australian Guineas takes place one week prior to Super Saturday where the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) are the highlights of the Flemington raceday.

From 1998 to 2000, the Australian Guineas was run over 2000m, and in 2007 the race was transferred to Caulfield Racecourse while track reconstruction took place at Flemington.

The Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes (1400m) for colts & geldings and the Group 3 The Vanity Stakes (1400m) for fillies are widely recognised as the ideal lead-up races to this event.

First run in 1986, the Australian Guineas was won by True Version when the race held Group 3 status before being elevated to a Group 1 the following year.

The honour roll lists some quality gallopers with the most recent winner of the Australian Guineas being Ferlax in 2013.

Other former winners of the Australian Guineas include Military Plume (1987), Zabeel (1990), Triscay (1991), Mahogany (1994), Dash For Cash (2002), Reset (2004), Apache Cat (2006), Miss Finland (2007), Mosheen (2012),

Shamus Award (2014), Wandjina (2015), Hey Doc (2017) and Grunt (2018).

Australian Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Pins
2001 Mr Murphy
2002 Dash For Cash
2003 Delago Brom
2004 Reset
2005 Al Maher
2006 Apache Cat
2007 Miss Finland
2008 Light Fantastic
2009 Heart Of Dreams
2010 Rock Classic
2011 Shamrocker
2012 Mosheen
2013 Ferlax
2014 Shamus Award
2015 Wandjina
2016 Palentino
2017 Hey Doc
2018 Grunt
2019 Mystic Journey

2020 Alligator Blood


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.