Blue Diamond Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Blue Diamond Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 22 February
Track Caulfield
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $1.5 million
Age Two-year-olds


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Blue Diamond Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Blue Diamond Stakes pointers are:

  • A top-two finish in the Blue Diamond Preludes is the ideal lead-up
  • Horses drawn in the first half of the field have a far superior record than those drawn out
  • Colts have had a slight advantage over the fillies


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Blue Diamond Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Caulfield races including the Blue Diamond Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the four bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Blue Diamond Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Blue Diamond Stakes and all Caulfield races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.

For the best way to make a profit on the Blue Diamond Stakes, read our guide on “How to make money betting online“.


The Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) takes place at Caulfield Racecourse annually in February during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival and is a set-weights race for two-year-olds.

The race attracts the country’s best up and coming juvenile sprinters and is one of three Group 1 races to be run on Blue Diamond Stakes Day.

Other races include the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m), Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Angus Armanasco Stakes (1400m), Group 2 St George Stakes (1800m), Group 2 Autumn Classic (1800m), and the Group 3 Mannerism Stakes (1400m).

The best lead-up races to the Blue Diamond Stakes are the fillies and colts and geldings editions of the Blue Diamond Prelude and Preview held at the same course in the month leading up to the race.

Sprinters tackling this race may then go for a brief freshen up before tackling Australia’s richest two-year-old sprint, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m).

First run in 1971, the Blue Diamond was won by Tolerance when the race was run over six furlongs as a Principal race.

Two years after its inception, the race converted to the metric system, and so was recognised as a 1,200 metre event. In 1980, the Blue Diamond Stakes found the ultimate recognition in progressing to its current Group 1 status.

The short but illustrious honour roll lists some very accomplished sprinters with former winners of the Blue Diamond including Manikato (1978), Rancher (1982), Redoute’s Choice (1999), Bel Esprit (2002), Sepoy (2011), Samaready (2012), Earthquake (2014), Extreme Choice (2016), Catchy (2017) and Written By (2018).

Blue Diamond Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Road To Success
2001 True Jewels
2002 Bel Espirit
2003 Kusi
2004 Alinghi
2005 Undoubtedly
2006 Nadeem
2007 Sleek Chassis
2008 Reaan
2009 Reward For Effort
2010 Star Witness
2011 Sepoy
2012 Samaready
2013 Miracles Of Life
2014 Earthquake
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2016 Extreme Choice
2017 Catchy
2018 Written By
2019 Lyre

2020 Tagaloa


A fair course that provides most runners an even chance when the rail is True position. When the rail is out shifted our 6 metres or more it favours on pace runners and leaders.

The track’s unique triangular shaped layout comprises of three straights and all turns have a 4% to 6% banking which places less strain on horse’s joints.


The first Caulfield Cup was run in the autumn of 1879, and was transferred to the spring in 1881. The track was closed during the war and was used as an army camp, with the Caulfield Cup being run at Flemington.

Renovations to the track and grandstand have made it one of the premier racecourses in Australia with top class facilities for the horses, club members and the public.

The racecourse is located approximately eight kilometres from the Melbourne CBD, on the boundary of Caulfield and Caulfield East in Melbourne’s south eastern suburbs.