Empire Rose Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Empire Rose Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, November 2, 2019
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Fillies’ Weight-for-Age
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Empire Rose Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Empire Rose Stakes pointers are:

  • The Tristarc Stakes is the key lead up race
  • No three-year-old filly has won the race
  • Favourites don’t have the best record

Empire Rose Stakes LIVE STREAM

Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Empire Rose Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Empire Rose Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Empire Rose Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.

WHERE TO BET ON THE Empire Rose Stakes

Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Empire Rose Stakes and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmakers below.

Empire Rose Stakes HISTORY AND GUIDE

The Empire Rose Stakes is one of four Group 1 races staged at Flemington Racecourse on Victoria Derby Day during the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

Three-year-old fillies and open aged mares compete under standard weight for age conditions in the Empire Rose Stakes.

Three other Group 1 races are staged on the same day, known as Derby Day, with the Victoria Derby (2500m) for three-year-olds, Kennedy Mile (1600m) and Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) for the three-year-old sprinters.

Concordance won the inaugural running of the Empire Rose Stakes back in 1988 when it carried Listed status. It has slowly been upgraded with the race also being run as a Group 3 and Group 2.

It was upgraded to Group 1 status in 2004 when taken out by Miss Potential.

The Empire Rose Stakes has gone through a number of name changes with the race having been run as The Honda Legend, Hong Kong Bank Stakes, Hardy Brothers Classic, Nestle Peters Classic and finally the Myer Classic from 2005 onwards.

Carrying $500,000 in prizemoney, the race attracts some of the best mares in the country and the added incentive is the increased value to the mare when she retires from the racetrack and becomes a broodmare.

One aspect that hasn’t changed about the race is that it has always been contested over 1600m since its inception.

One of the key lead-up races into the Empire Rose Stakes is the Group 2 Tristarc Stakes (1400m) held at Caulfield two weeks prior to the Empire Rose Stakes.

Other winners of the event have come through the Group 1 Cox Plate (2040m) at Moonee Valley one week earlier; Lotteria finished second in the Cox Plate before winning the Empire Rose Stakes in 2005.

Notable winners of the Empire Rose Stakes include Bonanova (1998), Noircir (1999), Miss Zoe (2002), Divine Madonna (2007), Forensics (2008), Typhoon Tracy (2009), Sacred Choice (2010), Appearance (2012) and Red Tracer (2013).

Empire Rose Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Super Sequel
2001 Market Price
2002 Miss Zoe
2003 Zanna
2004 Miss Potential
2005 Lotteria
2006 Lyrical Bid
2007 Divine Madonna
2008 Forensics
2009 Typhoon Tracy
2010 Sacred Choice
2011 Hurtle Myrtle
2012 Appearance
2013 Red Tracer
2014 Bonaria
2015 Politeness
2016 I Am A Star
2017 Shoals
2018 Shillelagh
2019 Melody Belle


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.