Manikato Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Manikato Stakes 2019

Date Friday, 25 October, 2019
Track Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-Age

Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO and upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Manikato Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Manikato Stakes pointers are:

  • Favourites have an excellent record
  • Mares are worth following with an impressive strike rate
  • Five-year-olds have been the most successful age group


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Manikato Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Moonee Valley races including the Manikato Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Manikato Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Manikato Stakes and all Moonee Valley races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmakers below.


The 2016 Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) continues to attract the country’s top sprinters and is run under lights at Moonee Valley on a Friday night.

Run under weight-for-age conditions, the race takes place on the eve of Australia’s most famous weight-for-age race, the Cox Plate (2040m), and is worth $750,000.

Sprinters contesting the Manikato Stakes may go on to contest the rich Darley Classic (1200m) at Flemington on the last day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

First run in 1968, the race was won by Winfreux when it was a Principal race and was known as the Freeway Stakes.

The following year, one of Australia’s most famous and highly regarded sprinters, Vain, lined up for his first and only start in the race and easily accounted for his rivals.

The honour roll includes some of Australia’s finest horse flesh with Chautauqua (2015), Lankan Rupee (2014), Buffering (2013), Sepoy (2011), Hay List (2010), Miss Andretti (2006), Sunline (2000), Redoute’s Choice (1999), Dane Ripper (1998), Rancho Ruler (1988), Rubiton (1987) and Strawberry Road (1983).

There have been four back-to-back winners of the race, with Dual Choice (1970-71), Tuato (1972-73), Spinning Hill (2002-03) and Spark Of Life (2004-05) completing the stunning feat, while Manikato’s dual wins came in 1979 and 1982.

In 1984, the race was renamed to honour Manikato who also won an unprecedented five William Reid Stakes at the same track and distance from 1979-83.

Lee Freedman is the most successful trainer in the races short but illustrious history having trained three winners and three 2nd placegetters from 17 runners.

The most successful jockey is Damien Oliver with an impressive two wins and eight placings from 16 rides in the event.

Manikato Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Sunline
2001 Piavonic
2002 Spinning Hill
2003 Spinning Hill
2004 Spark Of Life
2005 Spark Of Life
2006 Miss Andretti
2007 Gold Edition
2008 Typhoon Zed
2009 Danleigh
2010 Hay List
2011 Sepoy
2012 Sea Siren
2013 Buffering
2014 Lankan Rupee
2015 Chautauqua
2016 Rebel Dane
2017 Hey Doc

2018 Brave Smash
2019 Loving Gaby


Moonee Valley is a fairly consistent track with a sand base that compacts to become firm and drainage is very good after a downpour.

The track is constructed of the StrathAyr Turf System, having a lower layer of sand and an upper rootzone layer reinforced with mesh elements.

The unique, tight turning cambered circuit favours horses that are trained on small tracks such as Mornington, while horses trained on large open tracks such as Flemington can find it a difficult track to master.

The short straight favours on pace runners although it is possible for horses to make ground from the rear, providing they make a well-timed run.


In 1883, William Samuel Cox purchased a farm belonging to John F. Feehan and developed what is now known as Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Expansion of the racecourse facilities occurred in the 1960s and were funded by compensation for land acquired for the construction of the adjacent Tullamarine Freeway.

One of Australia’s biggest races take place at Moonee Valley with the track home to the Cox Plate – one of the big three Group 1s during the Spring Carnival.

Star performers head to Moonee Valley during both the Spring and Autumn Carnivals to contests the four Group 1 races staged at the track.

The Moir Stakes (1200m) and Manikato Stakes (1200m) are the only Australian Group 1 races to take place under lights.