Turnbull Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Turnbull Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, October 5, 2019
Track Flemington Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 4YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Turnbull Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Turnbull Stakes pointers are:

  • Six-year-olds and four-year-olds have the best record
  • The Underwood Stakes is the key lead up race
  • Horses starting in barrier 8 have fared best


Australia’s leading bookmakers offer you the chance to watch the Turnbull Stakes (and all other races from Victorian tracks) free of charge.

You can watch all Flemington races including the Turnbull Stakes streamed live online at:

Become a member of any of the bookmakers and enjoy the coverage free. To find out how to stream the Turnbull Stakes live, click on the dedicated link.


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy and Sportsbet are the best places to bet on the Turnbull Stakes and all Flemington races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Turnbull Stakes, staged at Flemington Racecourse each October on Turnbull Stakes Day, is the first major race of the season and kicks the Melbourne Spring Carnival into top gear with a high-class field usually lining up.

Carrying a prize fund of in excess of $500,000, it is a set-weights races for four-year-olds and upwards and run over 2000m. It is typically an early chance to see

Melbourne Cup

contenders as they return from spells. It is one of the big races of the early part of the season along with the

Caulfield Cup

and the

Cox Plate


The race, first run in 1948 when won by Beau Gem, is named after former Victoria Racing Club chairman Richard Turnbull and was upgraded to become a Group 1 in 2006 following Makybe Diva’s triumph 12 months earlier. It previously had been a handicap staged over a variety of distances.

Runners in the Turnbull Stakes tend to head onto the Caulfield Stakes a week later or the Caulfield Cup two weeks later before the best run in the Melbourne Cup in November.

The Turnbull Stakes has been a breeding ground for future winners of the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate. In addition to Makybe Diva, other notable names on the role of honour include Rising Fast (1954), Galilee (1968), Super Impose (1989), Let’s Elope (1991), Naturalism (1992), Sunline (2000), Northerly (2002), Efficient (2009), Zipping (2010) and Winx (2017).

Also taking place on Turnbull Stakes Day are the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes (1600m), the Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) and the Group 2 Blazer Stakes (1400m).

Turnbull Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Fairway
2001 Sunline
2002 Northerly
2003 Studebaker
2004 Elvstroem
2005 Makybe Diva
2006 Sphenephyta
2007 Devil Moon
2008 Littorio
2009 Efficient
2010 Zipping
2011 December Draw
2012 Green Moon
2013 Happy Trails
2014 Lucia Valentina
2015 Preferment
2016 Hartnell
2017 Winx
2018 Winx

2019 Kings Will Dream


Flemington is a spacious track with one of the longest straights in Australia at 450m which gives all horses an equal chance with luck in running.

Flemington also has a 1200 metre straight track for racing which is commonly referred to as “The Straight Six” course.

The run to first turn in the Melbourne Cup is 888m, ensuring that no horse has their chances hampered during the opening half-a-mile.


Steeped in tradition and home of Australia’s most iconic race, the Melbourne Cup, Flemington is arguably Australia’s most famous racecourse.

Crowds in excess of 100,000 people are a common occurrence during Flemington’s biggest race days where the Victorian Racing Club provides an entertaining environment for all.

The racecourse was first built in the 1850s and made its way onto the National Heritage List in 2006.

Flemington was originally named the Melbourne Racecourse on Crown Land after the Governor of New South Wales in 1848 formally declared 352 acres as a public racecourse and set up a six-member trust to oversee the racecourse.

The Victoria Racing Club Act passed by the government in 1871, made the club the trustees of the racecourse.

The Gold Rush era brought great wealth to Melbourne and Flemington soon grew in popularity, attracting vibrant crowds by the thousands.

Races were initially run in autumn, however, in 1854 the Victoria Turf Club decided to hold spring meetings due to favourable weather conditions – this eventually led to the hosting of the Melbourne Cup.