Latest News & Tips

Perth Cup Tips & Betting Advice

Perth Cup 2020

Date Saturday, 4 January
Track Ascot Racecourse
Distance 2400m
Class Group 2
Race Type Handicap
Prize Money $400,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Perth Cup betting selections available for the Group 2 race.

Some key Perth Cup pointers are:

  • Mares have a great record in this race
  • Four-year-olds are also the age group to focus on
  • Important to draw in between Barriers 1 to 5


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and BetEasy offer some of the best odds on Perth racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 2 Perth Cup (2400m) is Perth’s feature staying event and is fast becoming Australia’s most prominent race which has been staged traditionally on New Year’s Day.

The Cup draws a 35,000 strong crowd of spectators and punters each year and has been the highlight of Perth’s social calendar for many years.

It was first run in 1887, when the race was run at its original distance of two miles and was won by First Prince.

In 1947 the race distance was increased to 2 miles 11 yards and remained the same until 1962 when it was changed back to 2 miles.

A decade later the race distance was changed to 3200m until in 2009 the race distance was dramatically cut to its current 2400m in a bid to attract a higher quality field.

Since its inception, four horses have managed to go back-to-back with Scarpia (1893-94), Cueesun (1933-34), Fairetha (1958-59) and Magistrate (1981-82) completing the double.

Wandering Wille (1890 and 1892), Artesian (1911 and 1913), Fait Accompli (1970 and 1972) and Star Exhibit (2016 and 2019) managed to win two Perth Cups but not in consecutive years.

There has been one dead-heat in the race’s history when the judge couldn’t separate Rivose and Eurythmic in 1919.

Perth’s premier staying race has been won by some quality gallopers with Wandering Willie, Scarpia, Artesian, Pheonix Park (1927), Dayana (1973) and Crying Game (1976) being the most popular winners.

What was to be the 2012 Perth Cup, was run on the 31st of December 2011, giving that year two editions of the race. The same happened in 2016 with the 2017 running taking place on New Year’s Eve.

The Group 2 CB Cox Stakes (2100m) is the key lead up race to the Perth Cup, taking place around two weeks earlier.

Perth Cup Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Luna Tudor
2001 Lottila Bay
2002 Cardinal Colours
2003 Tumeric
2004 King Canute
2005 Crown Prosecutor
2006 Black Tom
2007 Respect
2008 Cats Fun
2009 Guyno
2010 Lords Random
2011 (Jan) Guest Wing
2011 (Dec) Western Jewel
2013 Talent Show
2014 Black Tycoon
2015 Real Love
2016 (Jan) Delicacy
2016 (Dec) Star Exhibit

2018 Material Man
2019 Star Exhibit


Regarded as the ‘grand old lady’ of Australian racecourses, Perth’s Ascot Racecourse is a well-drained turf track with a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia.

Ascot is one of the smaller racecourses in Australia and inside barriers can be an advantage.

Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction.


Perth Racing (formerly the Western Australian Turf Club) has been hosting thoroughbred race meetings at Ascot Racecourse for over 150 years.

Although the course hosts three Group 1 events throughout the year, the time-honoured Perth Cup (2400m) remains one of Perth’s feature races and is held on New Year’s Day.

The racecourse is situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth City Centre with the head office of The Western Australian Turf Club positioned directly opposite.