Railway Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Railway Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, 23 November, 2019
Track Ascot Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Railway Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Railway Stakes pointers are:

  • Favourites have a poor record
  • Four-year-olds have been the most successful in the race
  • Don’t be put off by a wide draw in the race


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and BetEasy offer some of the best odds on Perth racing throughout the year. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The $1 million Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) is recognised as Perth’s biggest race and is open to all horses three-years and older.

The feature event was first run in 1894 and was won by Wandering Willie when the race was run over 2400m.

In 1926 the Railway Stakes became a 1600m event and was shortened to 1500m in 1974 before being changed back to its current distance of 1600m in 1984.

Since its inception, only two horses have managed to win the race more than once with Tudor Mak going back-to-back in 1968-69 and Miss Muffet completing the double in 1987-88.

More recently, Sniper’s Bullet went close to capturing the rare feat when he ran second to Gilded Venom in 2008, only to return the following year and go one place better when winning in 2009.

Old Comrade (2001-02) and Hadrada (2002-03) also finished second in the Group 1 feature before proving victorious the following year.

The Railway Stakes has been won by some illustrious names, with the mighty Carbine winning the race in 1898 and Man O’ War in 1911.

In recent times, the two most popular winners of the Stakes would be Better Loosen Up and Northerly.

In 1990, the Colin Hayes-trained Better Loosen Up completed a Group 1 winning treble when winning the Honda Stakes (now Emirates 1600m), Winfield Stakes (now Kingston Town Classic 1800m) and then the Railway Stakes in consecutive races.

In 2000, local trainer Fred Kersley gave Perth a champion; after winning a string of minor races in his home state, Northerly burst on the scene with his dominant victory in the 2000 Railway Stakes where he accounted for the state’s best milers by nearly three lengths.

Runners in the Railway Stakes may come via the Melbourne Spring Carnival or may have contested the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) and Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes (1500m) earlier in the Perth Summer Carnival.

Railway Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Northerly
2001 Old Comrade
2002 Old Fashion
2003 Hardrada
2004 Modem
2005 Covertly
2006 Belle Bizare
2007 El Presedente
2008 Gilded Venom
2009 Sniper’s Bullet
2010 Gathering
2011 Luckygray
2012 Mr Moet
2013 Luckygray
2014 Elite Belle
2015 Good Project

2016 Scales Of Justice
2017 Great Shot
2018 Galaxy Star
2019 Regal Power


Regarded as the ‘grand old lady’ of Australian racecourses, Perth’s Ascot Racecourse is a well-drained turf track with a 300 metre inclining straight regarded by experts as the most severe test of stayers in Australia.

Ascot is one of the smaller racecourses in Australia and inside barriers can be an advantage.

Races are run in an anti-clockwise direction.


Perth Racing (formerly the Western Australian Turf Club) has been hosting thoroughbred race meetings at Ascot Racecourse for over 150 years.

Although the course hosts three Group 1 events throughout the year, the time-honoured Perth Cup (2400m) remains one of Perth’s feature races and is held on New Year’s Day.

The racecourse is situated approximately 8 kilometres east of the Perth City Centre with the head office of The Western Australian Turf Club positioned directly opposite.