Canterbury Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Canterbury Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 7 March
Track  Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1300m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-Age
Prize Money $500,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Canterbury Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Canterbury Stakes pointers are:

  • Mares have a good record in recent years
  • Barriers 5-10 have dominated in the recent times
  • Favourites have a good record in the race


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Neds are some of the best places to bet on the Canterbury Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


Dating back to 1929 when won by Australian Racing Hall of Fame racehorse Amounis, the Canterbury Stakes was originally contested over six furlongs (approximately 1200m).

The race would increase to its current distance of 1300m in 2004 and has been held over the same distance since then, except for one occasion when run over 1550m in 2008 when the race was held at Canterbury.

Speaking of venues, the Canterbury Stakes has been run at Canterbury Park, Rosehill Gardens and Randwick during its history.

The race only received Group 1 status in 2013 when taken out by champion galloper Pierro.

The Canterbury Stakes is a who’s who of Australian racing with a number of champion gallopers claiming victory on one or more occasions.

Notable winners include Amounis (1929), Holdfast (1930-32), Chatham (1933), Sky High (1961-62), Baguette (1971), Manikato (1982), Emancipation (1983), Placid Ark (1987), More Joyous (2011-12), Pierro (2013), Appearance (2014), Cosmic Endeavour (2015), Holler (2016), Le Romain (2017) and Happy Clapper (2018).

The Canterbury Stakes is complimented by the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m), Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m), Group 2 Reisling Slipper Trial (1200m), Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Skyline Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude (1600m).

Canterbury Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Easy Rocking
2001 Shogun Lodge
2002 Empire
2003 Defier
2004 Yell
2005 Dance Hero
2006 Paratroopers
2007 Malcolm
2008 Mentality
2009 All Silent
2010 Hot Danish
2011 More Joyous
2012 More Joyous
2013 Pierro
2014 Appearance
2015 Cosmic Endeavour
2016 Holler
2017 Le Romain
2018 Happy Clapper
2019 Trapeze Artist

2020 The Bostonian


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.