Chipping Norton Stakes Tips & Betting ADVICE

Chipping Norton Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 29 February
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-age
Prize Money $600,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Chipping Norton Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Chipping Norton Stakes pointers are:

  • The Apollo Stakes is the key lead up race
  • Ignore horses at double figure odds
  • Inside barriers have a distinct advantage


Bookmakers TAB and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Chipping Norton Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) takes place at Randwick Racecourse annually in March and is the first Group 1 race of the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

The Open Weight-for-age race takes place on the fifth week of the Carnival and is the feature race on the card having been previously staged at Warwick Farm.

Other high profile races on the day include the Group 1 Surround Stakes (1400m) for three-year-old fillies, and the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup (1300m).

Wallace Mortlake won the inaugural Chipping Norton Stakes in 1892. It was awarded Group 1 status in 1986 and was the most highly-regarded Warwick Farm feature before being moved to Randwick

With $600,000 in prizemoney the Chipping Norton Stakes attracts the country’s best milers and middle distance horses as they prepare for further Sydney Autumn Carnival targets.

The Group 2 Apollo Stakes (1400m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse two weeks earlier is the most reliable guides to the Chipping Norton.

Some of Australia’s most talented horses have won the premiere weight-for-age event including Amounis (1927), Phar Lap (1930), Bernborough (1946), Tulloch (1958 & 1960), Rain Lover (1969), Emancipation (1984), Our Waverly Star (1987), Super Impose (1991-92), Octagonal (1997), Tie The Knot (1999-2002), Lonhro (2003), Grand Armee (2005), Desert War (2006), Shoot Out (2012-13) and Winx in the last three years (2016-18).

Winners of the Chipping Norton Stakes have recently gone on to win the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) held five weeks later at Randwick after earning a balloting exemption.

Chipping Norton Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Tie The Knot
2001 Tie The Knot
2002 Tie The Knot
2003 Lonhro
2004 Starcraft
2005 Grand Armee
2006 Desert War
2007 He’s No Pie Eater
2008 Casino Prince
2009 Tuesday Joy
2010 Theseo
2011 Danleigh
2012 Shoot Out
2013 Shoot Out
2014 Boban
2015 Contributer
2016 Winx
2017 Winx
2018 Winx
2019 Winx

2020 Te Akau Shark


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.