Coolmore Classic Tips & Betting Advice

2020 Coolmore Classic

Date Saturday 14 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 1500m
Class Group 1
Race Type Quality Handicap
Prizemoney $600,000
Age 3YO and Upwards, Fillies and Mares


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Coolmore Classic betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • There is no single lead-up race to concentrate on
  • Three-year-olds have a poor record in recent times
  • Horses drawn low have a poor record


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Coolmore Classic and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) takes place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse annually in March during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is a premier race for fillies and mares. 

The Coolmore Classic is one of two Group 1 races for fillies and mares during the Sydney Autumn Carnival, with the other being the Coolmore Legacy (Queen of the Turf Stakes) at Randwick.

With $600,000  in prizemoney, it attracts the best mile/middle distance horses from Australia and and is part of a fantastic day of racing that includes the Group 2 Todman Slipper Trial (1200m), Group 2 Ajax Stakes (1500m) and the Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes (1500m).

The registered name of the race is Thomas Arthur David (TAD) Kennedy Stakes and was named after former horse trainer and Sydney Turf Club Committeeman Thomas Kennedy.

It was first run in 1973 when won by Miss Personality and has grown in stature to become one of the Sydney Autumn Carnival’s most revered races.

The Coolmore Classic is run under handicap conditions over and is open to fillies and mares aged three years and upward.

The winner of the race is exempt from ballot for the Doncaster Mile (1600m) held at Randwick Racecourse three weeks later.

The most reliable lead-up race to the Coolmore Classic is the Group 1 Surrround Stakes (1500m) at Randwick run two weeks earlier on Chipping Norton Stakes Day.

Some classy female gallopers have won the race, including Vicenza (1975), Emancipation (1984), Skating (1993), Sunline (2000 & 2002), Tuesday Joy (2007), Typoon Tracy (2009) and more recently Appearance (2013), Peeping (2016), Heavens Above (2017) and Daysee Doom (2018).

Coolmore Classic Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Sunline
2001 Porta Roca
2002 Sunline
2003 Bollinger
2004 Shamekha
2005 Danni Martine
2006 Regal Cheer
2007 Tuesday Joy
2008 Eskimo Queen
2009 Typhoon Tracy
2010 Alverta
2011 Aloha
2012 Ofcourseican
2013 Appearance
2014 Steps In Time
2015 Plucky Belle
2016 Peeping
2017 Heavens Above
2018 Daysee Doom
2019 Dixie Blossoms

2020 Con Te Partiro


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.