Coolmore Legacy Stakes TIPS & BETTING ADVICE

2020 Coolmore Legacy Stakes

Date Saturday 11 April
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight-for-age
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 3YOs + (fillies and mares)


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Coolmore Legacy Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • The Coolmore Classic is one of the key lead up races
  • Four-year-olds have the best recent record
  • Drawing barrier 8 or lower is an advantage


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Coolmore Legacy Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Queen of the Turf Stakes (1600m) is now known as the Coolmore Legacy Stakes and takes place at Randwick Racecourse annually in April during the Sydney Autumn Carnival 

The race is a premier weight-for-age race for fillies and mares and attracts the best female gallopers going around, and is part of a fantastic day of racing that includes the Group 1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2000m), Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m), Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m).

The most reliable lead-up race to the Coolmore Legacy is the Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m).

Refulgence won the inaugural running of the race in 1972 when it was a principal race run over one mile.

Some classy gallopers have won the race, including Ducatoon (1981), Camino Rose (1999), Danglissa (2000), Hosannah (2003), Mnemosyne (2006), Divine Madonna (2007), Forensics (2008), Neroli (2009), Typhoon Tracy (2010), More Joyous (2011-12), Appearance (2013), Diamond Drille (2014), Azkadellia (2016), Foxplay (2017) and Alizee (2018).

Coolmore Legacy Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Danglissa
2001 Sorrento
2002 Ugachaka
2003 Hosannah
2004 In A Bound
2005 Ike’s Dream
2006 Mnemosyne
2007 Divine Madonna
2008 Forensics
2009 Neroli
2010 Typhoon Tracy
2011 More Joyous
2012 More Joyous
2013 Appearance
2014 Diamond Drille
2015 Amanpour
2016 Azkadellia
2017 Foxplay
2018 Alizee
2019 Kenedna

2020 Con Te Partiro


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.