George Ryder Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

George Ryder Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 21 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 1500m

Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prize Money $1 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and George Ryder Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Canterbury Stakes and Chipping Norton Stakes form is the most reliable guide
  • Six-year-olds have the best recent record
  • Double figure priced horses have enjoyed success in recent times


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and TopBetta are the best places to bet on the George Ryder Stakes and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes (1500m) takes place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse annually in late March during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is a premier weight-for-age race for middle distance horses.

With $1 million in prizemoney, it attracts some high quality gallopers and is part of a fantastic day of racing at Rosehill..

The most reliable lead-up races to the George Ryder are the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1400m) and the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m).

Although the race favours middle distance types, a few exceptional sprinters throughout the years have been able to stretch out to between 1300m and 1500m as the race distance has changed over the last decade or so.

It was first run in 1903 when won by Marvel Loch and has grown in stature to become one of the Sydney Autumn Carnival’s most revered races.

The George Ryder is run under weight-for-age conditions and is open to horses three years old and upward.

The winner of the race is exempt from ballot for the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) held at Royal Randwick Racecourse two weeks later.

Some classy gallopers have won the race, including Manikato (1979-80), Emancipation (1983-84), Schillaci (1993), Lonhro (2003-04), Racing To Win (2006), Haradasun (2007), Weekend Hussler (2008), Pierro (2013) and Winx (2016-18) in the last three years.

George Ryder Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Al Mansour
2001 Landsighting
2002 Lord Essex
2003 Lonhro
2004 Lonhro
2005 Court’s In Session
2006 Racing To Win
2007 Haradasun
2008 Weekend Hussler
2009 Vision And Power
2010 Danleigh
2011 Rangirangdoo
2012 Metal Bender
2013 Pierro
2014 Gordon Lord Byron
2015 Real Impact
2016 Winx
2017 Winx
2018 Winx
2019 Winx

2020 Dreamforce


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.