Golden Slipper Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Golden Slipper 2020

Date Saturday 21 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 1200m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prize Money $3.5 million
Age 2YO


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Golden Slipper betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Fillies have the better recent record in the race
  • Todman Stakes and Reisling Stakes are the key form guides
  • A barrier in the first half of the field is advantageous


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Golden Slipper and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m) takes place in late March each year at Rosehill Racecourse during the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

It is the world’s richest race for two-year-old fillies, colts and geldings and is one of four Grand Slam races on the Australian racing calendar alongside the Melbourne Cup, Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate.

The race took on Group 1 status in 1980 and was first run in 1957 when won by Todman by Star Kingdom who also sired the next four winners of the Golden Slipper.

The race attracts the speediest of the two-year-old brigade and is run under set-weights conditions, with females carrying 2kg less than the males.

The 1200m start is located in a chute in the middle of the course where there is a long straight run to the first turn; it is possible to win from an outside gate when the track conditions are suiting horses that are finishing on down the centre of the track.

As this is the third consecutive weekend of racing at this track during the autumn carnival, the rail is often moved out and horses will race wide in search of better going, particularly if the ground is rain affected.

There are a number of lead-up races prior to the Golden Slipper Stakes; these races include the Reisling Stakes, the Magic Night Stakes for fillies, the Todman Stakes and the Pago Pago Stakes for colts and geldings.

These lead-up races are all named after past winners of the race with Reisling (1965), Magic Night (1961), Todman (1957) and Pago Pago (1963) being famous winners of the two-year-old feature.

Other former winners of the Golden Slipper include: Sweet Embrace (1967), Vain (1969), Luskin Star (1977), Manikato (1978), Marscay (1982), Rory’s Jester (1985), Courtza (1989), Tierce (1991), Danzero (1994), Catbird (1999), Miss Finland (2006), Sebring (2008), Sepoy (2011), Pierro (2012), Overreach (2014), Vancouver (2015), Capitalist (2016) and She Will Reign (2017).

The race is also the first leg of the Sydney two-year-old Triple Crown with only six horses going on the complete rare feat of the Golden Slipper, Sires Produce (1400m) and the Champagne Stakes (1600m).

Pierro won the Triple Crown in 2011 and now joins the elite group of Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Tierce (1991), Burst (1992) and Dance Hero (2004) to complete the rare treble.

Golden Slipper Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Belle Du Jour
2001 Ha Ha
2002 Calaway Girl
2003 Polar Success
2004 Dance Hero
2005 Stratum
2006 Miss Finland
2007 Forensics
2008 Sebring
2009 Phelan Ready
2010 Crystal Lily
2011 Sepoy
2012 Pierro
2013 Overreach
2014 Mossfun
2015 Vancouver
2016 Capitalist
2017 She Will Reign
2018 Estijaab
2019 Kiamichi

2020 Farnan


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.