Randwick Guineas Tips & Betting Advice

Randwick Guineas 2020

DateSaturday 7 March
TrackRandwick Racecourse
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet Weights
Prize Money$1 million


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Randwick Guineas betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key Randwick Guineas pointers are:

  • The Hobartville Stakes is the ideal lead up form
  • Barriers 1-5 are an advantage
  • Favourites have a good record


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Randwick Guineas and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) takes place at Randwick Racecourse annually in March and is a set-weights race for three-year-olds.

The Randwick Guineas attracts the country’s best mile/middle-distance horses with the winner automatically qualifying for the Group 1 Australian Derby and Doncaster Mile.

The most reliable guide to the Randwick Guineas is the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) which is held two weeks earlier at Rosehill Racecourse on the same day as the Group 2 Silver Slipper Stakes (1100m) and the Group 2 Millie Fox Stakes (1300m).

The Canterbury Guineas, as it was originally known, was first run in 1935 when won by Hadrian when the race was run over 1900m at Canterbury Racecourse. Hotel Grand won the inaugural Randwick Guineas in 2006 after it replaced the Canterbury Guineas.

Recent winners of the Randwick Guineas include It’s A Dundeel (2013), Dissident (2014), Hallowed Crown (2015), Le Romain (2016), Inference (2017) and Kementari (2018), while previous winners of the race include Delta (1949), Todman (1957), Veandercross (1992), Octagonal (1996), Intergaze (1997), Arena (1999), Universal Prince (2001), Niello (2004), Weekend Hussler (2008), Shoot Out (2010) and Mosheen (2012).

The race has traditionally also been a strong indicator to the Rosehill Guineas which is held two weeks later at Rosehill Racecourse over 2000m with the two races forming part of the three-year-old Triple Crown along with the Australian Derby.

A host of Randwick Guineas winners have gone on to compete in some of Australia’s greatest races such as the Australian Derby, Doncaster Mile, Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

The Randwick feature is complimented by the Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1400m), Group 2 Challenge Stakes (1000m), Group 2 Reisling Slipper Trial (1200m), Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Skyline Stakes (1200m) and the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude (1600m).

Randwick Guineas Winners (Since 2000)

2001Universal Prince
2002Carnegie Express
2003Fine Society
2006Hotel Grand
2008Weekend Hussler
2009Metal Bender
2010Shoot Out
2013It’s A Dundeel
2015Hallowed Crown
2016Le Romain
2019The Autumn Sun


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.

  • Bookmaker Of The Week
  • MAXCODE Referral Code
  • Join Ladbrokes Today

Top Bookmakers

  • Daily Specials Available
  • US Sports Specialist
  • Join PointsBet Today
  • MAXCODE Referral Code
  • Racing Infohub
  • Live Racing and Sports Streams
Sportsbet Apps
  • Australia's Number 1 Bookmaker
  • Australian Open - 4 Games Up In Any Set...You Win!
  • Same Game Multis