Ranvet Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

Ranvet Stakes 2020

Date Saturday 21 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prize Money $700,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Ranvet Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • The Chipping Norton Stakes is the key lead-up race
  • Five and six-year-olds have dominated in recent years
  • A low draw in advantageous


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Ranvet Stakes and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) takes place at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse annually in March during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is a premier weight-for-age race for middle distance staying types.

The race attracts some high quality gallopers and is part of a fantastic day of racing.

Great Scot won the inaugural running of the race when it was known as the Rawson Stakes and run over a distance of 1800m.

Originally a principle race, the Ranvet Stakes received its current Group 1 status in 1980 and has grown in popularity since.

The Ranvet Stakes is run under weight-for-age conditions and is open to horses three years old and upward.

The winner of the Ranvet Stakes is exempt from ballot for The BMW (2400m) held at the same track.

The most reliable lead-up race to the Ranvet Stakes is the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes (1600m) held at Randwick three weeks earlier.

Some classy gallopers have won the race, including Poseidon (1908), Peter Pan (1935), Bernborough (1946), Tulloch (1958), Gunsynd (1971 & 1973), Hyperno (1981), Better Loosen Up (1990), Super Impose (1991), Tie The Knot (2000-01), Grand Armee (2005), Eremein (2006), Desert War (2007), Manighar (2012), Foreteller (2013), Silent Achiever (2014), Contributer (2015), The United States (2016), Our Ivanhowe (2017)

and Gailo Chop (2018).

Ranvet Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Tie The Knot
2001 Tie The Knot
2002 Universal Prince
2003 Rebublic Lass
2004 Sound Action
2005 Grand Armee
2006 Eremein
2007 Desert War
2008 Tuesday Joy
2009 Theseo
2010 Theseo
2011 Zavite
2012 Manighar
2013 Foreteller
2014 Silent Achiever
2015 Contributer
2016 The United States
2017 Our Ivanhowe
2018 Gailo Chop
2019 Avilius

2020 Addeybb


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious The BMW (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.