Sires Produce Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

2020 Inglis Sires’

Date Saturday 4 April
Track Royal Randwick
Distance 1400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $1 million
Age 2YOs


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Sires Produce Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Favourites have an excellent record in the race
  • Golden Slipper form has proven to be superior over the years
  • Fillies are worth following in the race

The Championships Day 1 Expert Tips


Bookmakers Ladbrokes and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the Sires Produce Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Sires Produce Stakes (1400m) – also known as the Inglis Sires’ – takes place at Royal Randwick Racecourse annually in April and is part of Sydney’s Juvenile Triple Crown.

The two-year-old set-weights race takes place on the third to last week of the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is one of four Group 1 races on Day 1 of The Championships.

Other races on the day include the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m), Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m), and Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m).

Glencoe won the inaugural Sires Produce Stakes in 1867 when the race was run over one mile.

Although the race was originally run over one mile and is currently run over 1400m, from 1905 to 1908 the Sires Produce was a six furlong race (1200m).

The race now forms part of the two-year-old Triple Crown which includes the Golden Slipper Stakes (1200m), Sires Produce Stakes, and Champagne Stakes (1600m).

The Sires Produce Stakes is a natural progression for Golden Slipper runners that can stretch out to beyond a sprinting distance.

Winners of the Sires Produce Stakes have also gone on to compete in the Group 1 Champagne Stakes held at Royal Randwick two weeks later.

Notable winners of the Sires Produce Stakes include: Robinson Crusoe (1876), Chester (1877), Ajax (1937), Shannon (1944), Tulloch (1957), Baguette (1970), Luskin Star (1977), Octagonal (1995), Sebring (2008), Pierro (2012), Guelph (2013), Pride Of Dubai (2015) and Yankee Rose (2016).

Sires Produce Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Assertive Lad
2001 Viscount
2002 Victory Vein
2003 Hasna
2004 Dance Hero
2005 Fashions Afield
2006 Excites
2007 Camarilla
2008 Sebring
2009 Manhattan Rain
2010 Yosei
2011 Helmet
2012 Pierro
2013 Guelph
2014 Peggy Jean
2015 Pride Of Dubai
2016 Yankee Rose
2017 Invader
2018 El Dorado Dreaming
2019 Microphone

2020 King’s Legacy


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.