Tancred Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

2020 Tancred Stakes

Date Saturday 28 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 2500m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $1.5 million
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Tancred Stakes, the race formerly known as the BMW, betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • Four and five-year-old horses are the ones to concentrate on
  • The Australian Cup and Ranvet Stakes have traditionally provided the best lead up form
  • A barrier draw in the second half of the field is preferential


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Tancred Stakes and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Group 1 Tancred Stakes (2400m) takes place at annually at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse in April and is one of Australia’s premium middle-distance/staying races.

Formerly known as The BMW, the Tancred Stakes attracts the country’s best middle-distance and staying types throughout the autumn. It is an open weight-for-age race and is the a Group 1 race taking place during the Sydney Autumn Carnival.

The race is one of two Group 1 races on the day, Rosehill’s last big race meeting on the autumn, with the other being the Vinery Stud Stakes.

The most reliable guide to Tancred Stakes is the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) held a week earlier at the same track. Many Tancred Stakes winners have come through the Ranvet Stakes.

Some of Australia’s greatest horses have won Tancred Stakes with the most notable being three-time Melbourne Cup winner Makybe Diva.

Other notable winners of Tancred Stakes include: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986), Octagonal (1996-97), Might And Power (1998), Tie The Knot (1999-2000), Ethereal (2002), Manighar (2012), Fiveandahalfstar (2013), Silent Achiever (2014), Hartnell (2015), Preferment (2016), Jameka (2017) and Almandin (2018).

The race can also a reliable lead-up to Sydney’s feature staying race, the Sydney Cup (3200m) held two weeks later at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Tancred Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Tie The Knot
2001 Curata Storm
2002 Ethereal
2003 Freemason
2004 Grand Zulu
2005 Makybe Diva
2006 Eremein
2007 Blutigeroo
2008 Tuesday Joy
2009 Fiumicino
2010 Littorio
2011 Cedarberg
2012 Manighar
2013 Fiveandahalfstar
2014 Silent Achiever
2015 Hartnell
2016 Preferment
2017 Jameka
2018 Almandin
2019 Avilius

2020 Verry Elleegant


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious Tancred Stakes (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.