Vinery Stud Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

2020 Vinery Stud Stakes

Date Saturday 28 March
Track Rosehill Racecourse
Distance 2000m
Class Group 1
Race Type Set Weights
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 3YO Fillies


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and Vinery Stud Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key pointers are:

  • The Coolmore Classic has been the most reliable lead up race
  • Horses drawn wider have the best recent record
  • The race is the most prominent lead up for the Australia Oaks two weeks later


Bookmakers Ladbrokes, BetEasy, Sportsbet and Neds are the best places to bet on the Vinery Stud Stakes and all races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Vinery Stud Stakes (formerly Arrowfield Stud Stakes 2000m) takes place at Rosehill Racecourse annually in late March or early April and is a premier staying race for three-year-old fillies.

The staying event takes place on Tancred Stakes Day during the Sydney Autumn Carnival and is one of two Group 1 races on the card along with the feature race.

Impede won the inaugural Vinery Stud Stakes in 1979 when the race was classed as a principle race and run over a distance of 1900m.

The race distance was elevated to 2000m in 1980 and run at Group 2 level between 1980 and 1992 before inheriting its current Group 1 status in 1993.

The race attracts the country’s best staying three-year-old fillies with many on their way to the prestigious Australian Oaks (2400m) held two weeks later at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

There are a number of lead-up races prior to the Vinery Stud Stakes, including the Group 1 Coolmore Classic (1500m) and the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m).

Other former winners of the Vinery Stud Stakes include: Research (1989), Northwood Plume (1995), Champagne (1998), Special Harmony (2004), Serenade Rose (2006), Miss Finland (2007), Faint Perfume (2010), Mosheen (2012), Norzita (2013), Lucia Valentina (2014), Fenway (2015), Single Gaze (2016) and Montoya’s Secret (2017).

Vinery Stud Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Hill Of Grace
2001 Tempest Morn
2002 Sixty Seconds
2003 Shower Of Roses
2004 Special Harmony
2005 Hollow Bullet
2006 Serenade Rose
2007 Miss Finland
2008 Heavenly Glow
2009 Purple
2010 Faint Perfume
2011 Mirjulisa Lass
2012 Mosheen
2013 Norzita
2014 Lucia Valentina
2015 Fenway
2016 Single Gaze
2017 Montoya’s Secret
2018 Hiyaam
2019 Verry Elleegant

2020 Shout The Bar


Rosehill Racecourse consists of four long sweeping turns and horses that have drawn an inside gate are advantaged.

It is difficult to lead all the way when the rail is in the true position, but when the rail is out 4 metres or more, all runners are provided an even opportunity.


Rosehill hosts nine Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Golden Slipper sees the best two-year-old descend on Rosehill chasing one of Australia’s most prized races.

Founded in 1947, the Rosehill Racecourse is home to the richest two-year-old race in the world, the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

First held in 1957 the juvenile sprint was won by Todman by an impressive 8 length margin.

The prestigious Tancred Stakes (2400m) is also held at Rosehill and has been won by champion racehorses such as: Hyperno (1978), Kingston Town (1980), Bonecrusher (1986) and Octagonal (1996 & 97).

The track is approximately 23 kilometres to the west of Sydney’s city centre and offers quality viewing for punters having modern three tiered stands with bars, restaurants and betting facilities.