George Main Stakes Tips & Betting Advice

George Main Stakes 2019

Date Saturday, September 21, 2019
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 1600m
Class Group 1
Race Type Weight for Age
Prizemoney $500,000
Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and George Main Stakes betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key George Main Stakes pointers are:

  • Favourites generally have an excellent record in the race
  • Mares have a generally poor record in the Group 1 mile contest
  • Five-year-olds have the best recent record


Bookmakers Neds, BetEasy and Sportsbet are some of the best places to bet on the George Main Stakes and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmakers below.


The George Main Stakes is the first Group 1 of the new season staged at Randwick Racecourse with the race taking place in late September each year during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Run over 1600m and open to horses of all ages, it is a weight-for-age race with the prize fund of $350,000 with an added incentive to the winner – that being exemption from the ballot of the Group 1 Epsom Handicap staged at Randwick two weeks later during Super Saturday.

Named after George Main, the former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club, the race always attracts a high-class field as they attempt to land a big early-season prize during the two-day Australian Turf Club Carnival at Royal Randwick.

First run in 1945 when won by Modulation, the George Main Stakes has been by some real stars of Australian racing with Kingston Town the most notable having recorded back-to-back victories in 1981 and 1982 during his illustrious career. Shannon (1946 and 1947), Count Radiant (1964 and 1965) and Regal Rhythm (1967 and 1968) are others to triumph in successive years in the race.

Other notable winners include champion racehorse Emancipation (1983), Shogun Lodge (1999), Defier (2002), the outstanding galloper Lonhro (2003), seven-time Group 1 winner Grand Armee (2004) and More Joyous (2010), who became the first mare to win in 14 years when taking the prize and went on to major success including winning the 2012 Doncaster Handicap.

Another mare won the race in 2016 with Winx continuing her stunning unbeaten run with victory in the George Main Stakes.

The traditional lead up to the George Main Stakes includes running in the Group 3 Tramway Handicap (1400m), a route Sincero took in 2011 when winning both, two weeks earlier at Randwick, while after running in the race the Epsom Handicap (1600m) is the usual next target with the winner guaranteed a place in the field.

George Main Stakes Day features four other Group race contests including the Group 2 The Shorts for sprinters over 1100m, the Group 2 Hill Stakes (2000m), the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes for three-year-old fillies over 1400m and the Group 3 Bill Ritchie Stakes over the same distance.

The George Main Stakes was not staged in 2007 due to an outbreak of Equine Influenza.

George Main Stakes Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Adam
2001 Viscount
2002 Defier
2003 Lonhro
2004 Grand Armee
2005 Mr Celebrity
2006 Racing To Win
2007 Race Not Held
2008 Mentality
2009 Road To Rock
2010 More Joyous
2011 Sincero
2012 Shoot Out
2013 Streama
2014 Sacred Falls
2015 Kermadec
2016 Winx
2017 Winx
2018 Winx
2019 Avilius


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.