The Metropolitan Tips & Betting Advice

The Metropolitan 2019

Date Saturday, October 5, 2019
Track Randwick Racecourse
Distance 2400m
Class Group 1
Race Type Handicap
Prizemoney $750,000

Age 3YO and Upwards


Our experts will have their pre-race predictions and The Metropolitan betting selections available for the Group 1 race.

Some key The Metropolitan pointers are:

  • The Hill Stakes is the key lead up race
  • Barrier 4 has been the most successful in the last three decades
  • Trainer Gai Waterhouse boasts the best record in the race


Bookmakers Sportsbet and Ladbrokes are some of the best places to bet on The Metropolitan and all Randwick races. They offer some of the best odds and promotions on the big race and also stream the race live online. Or take advantage of the top 5 bookmaker deals below.


The Metropolitan is a staying feature that is run under handicap conditions. It is one of three Group 1 races on the Royal Randwick program which is headlined by the $1 million Epsom Handicap (1600m) and Flight Stakes (1600m).

Worth $750,000 in prizemoney, The Metropolitan has a rich history that dates back more than 150 years ago.

First held in 1863 when won by Regno, The Metropolitan has endured a number of name changes – Great Metropolitan Stakes, Metropolitan Stakes, Metropolitan Handicap and The Metropolitan.

Originally run over the Melbourne Cup trip of two miles (3200m), The Metropolitan has also been held over 2400m (its current distance) and 2600m.

It was a Principal Race until 1979 when receiving Group 1 status.

Magic Hurricane is the most recent winner of The Metropolitan after starting favourite and defeating Beaten Up by two lengths in 2015.

The Group 2 Hill Stakes (2000m) held at the same venue two weeks earlier is a key lead up race and it was the race used by Magic Hurricane who finished second behind Preferment; the form was franked with Preferment heading to Melbourne to win the Group 1 Turnbull Stakes (2000m) on the same weekend as The Metropolitan.

Another key lead up race is the Group 3 Newcastle Cup (2300m) held at Newcastle two weeks earlier.

In 2014, the Chris Waller-trained Junoob claimed The Metropolitan in front of stablemate Opinion. It would later be revealed that Junoob would test positive to a prohibited substance and be disqualified from the event. Opinion would be upgraded to victor and Waller was handed a $30,000 fine.

Notable winners of The Metropolitan include The Barb (1868), Beau Vite (1940), Dashing Cavalier (1941), Delta (1951), Dalray (1952), Redcraze (1956), Monte Carlo (1958), Battle Heights (1976), Ming Dynasty (1978), Belmura Lad (1981), Hayai (1983-84), Te Akau Nick (1992), County Tyrone (2004), Railings (2005), Tawqeet (2006), Speed Gifted (2009) and Herculian Prince (2010), Sir John Hawkwood (2016).

Gai Waterhouse has won The Metropolitan on eight occasions. She has saddled up Te Akau Nick (1992), Electronic (1995), Hula Flight (1996), In Joyment (1998), Coco Cobanna (2000), Dress Circle (2001), Herculian Prince (2010) and Glencadam Gold (2012) to success.

Since 1983, three winners of The Metropolitan have gone on to claim the Caulfield Cup (2400m) at their next start – Hayai (1983), Railings (2005) and Tawqeet (2006).

In that time, one Cox Plate winner, Saintly (1996), has come through The Metropolitan at their start prior to claiming the Cox Plate; Saintly finished third behind Hula Flight and Nothin’ Leica Dane when beaten as $2.10 favourite.

The Metropolitan Winners (Since 2000)

2000 Coco Cobanna
2001 Dress Circle
2002 Victory Smile
2003 Bedouin
2004 County Tyrone
2005 Railings
2006 Tawqeet
2007 Race Not Held
2008 Newport
2009 Speed Gifted
2010 Herculian Prince
2011 The Verminator
2012 Glencadam Gold
2013 Seville
2014 Opinion
2015 Magic Hurricane
2016 Sir John Hawkwood
2017 Foundry
2018 Patrick Erin

2019 Come Play With Me


Randwick is the largest racetrack in New South Wales and all races are run in a clockwise direction. It is a sweeping track with a rise from the 300m mark to the winning post in the home straight.

As well as the main track, Randwick Racecourse contains a second track known as Kensington. Due to large rainfall in the area, Kensington has been reconstructed using the Strathayr racing surface which is similar to Moonee Valley.

Strathayr is a turf cover over a base of sand, this means it is a free draining track which can take a substantial amount of rain without affecting the rating.


Originally known as the ‘Sandy Course,’ Randwick Racecourse was first used in 1833 where a private match race between two horses was held.

In 1840 the track was abandoned as a racecourse and used for training purposes before the Australian Jockey Club (AJC) moved its headquarters to Randwick and held a meeting in 1860.

The Queen Elizabeth II stand was opened to the public on August 4, 1969, and in 1992, Queen Elizabeth II visited Randwick and opened the new $30 million Paddock Grandstand.

The Australian Derby (2400m) remains one of the longest standing races to be held at Randwick after its inaugural running took place in 1861.

Randwick hosts some of Australia’s most iconic Group 1 races throughout the year, during both the spring and autumn carnivals in Sydney.

The Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Doncaster Mile and TJ Smith Stakes are some of the elite races taking place at Randwick during the prestigious The Championships during the autumn.